One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is so good. I made fresh pico de gallo and left out the chesse to make it healther. I also added a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
These were good enough to eat and very good leftover cold. But, not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Sounds like a great idea. I liked the idea for zucchini and potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I used the recipe to cook beans to make refried beans. I mainly just followed the measurements. About half way through cooking I had to add about 4 more cups of water because they were getting too dry though they were in my dutch oven. After that I kept cooking them til reduced and they were soft and creamy like restaurant-style refried beans. I used about half the amount of garlic (but next time I'll go ahead and use the full amount) and a whole yellow onion because it was all I had. Instead of adding mozzarella cheese I used 1/3 round "brick" of quesadilla cheese. I sauteed the onion in a tablespoon of bacon grease and 2 teaspoons of cumin, 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika and 1/2 teaspoon of marjoram and 1/2 teaspoon of thyme. I used about 2 teaspoons of salt at the beginning and added another teaspoon at the end and for us, that was plenty salty. I'll definitely make this again. I had about 10-12 cups of cooked, refried beans and very little work. You just have to check on it to make sure the beans aren't getting too dry or sticking/scorching. (I read in a review that you should only add hot water/broth to beans after they've started and I did that and my beans were very creamy and smooth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
What a simple and easy way to make a delicious pot of pinto beans for a meal. We added to our dinner table, homemade Pico De Gallo, cornbread and quesadillas. Fiesta time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proudmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Made these beans for company to have with green chili and I probably could have doubled the recipe for the 5 of us adults! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These beans are soooo good! I put them in the crockpot in the morning and let them cook all day. I added a couple of handfuls of cheese to them as I mashed them and left out the pico de gallo. My husband said they tasted like his grandma's (a huge compliment!) I will never be using canned beans again! Thank you for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
More like 6 hours for soft beans, with the 2 minute boil and 1 hour rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Nice tasting beans! I had tons of beans so made one recipe on the stove top and one recipe in the crock pot. Beans in the crockpot took a solid 14 hours to soften. Stove top was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States