One Pot Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I've been making these over and over since my husband loves them and is on a diet. They need much more water added but I make them in the slow cooker. I tried a bowl of them tonight and they were delicious and full of flavor. (Even without the cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Completely as described. Creamy, and with the taste of refried beans, but healthily done. Super simple. I didn't have condensed chicken broth so just used 8 cups of regular chicken broth instead of the condensed broth and water. It took just over 2 hours to cook instead of the 3 1/2 suggested, and be sure to stir every 15-20 minutes to make sure that all of the beans are getting cooked through properly. Easy, healthy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
be a little better if you add some chicken or beef to it, I think,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Excellent! I cooked them in the crock pot on high for about 4.5 hours. Delicious! Was so delicious I didn't use the pico or cheese. Hubby also loved them and I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Very easy to do. Instead of pico de gallo with with some salsa and a can of rotell. I went with about two pinches of salt would recommend more. Will take much longer then 4 hrs to cook. I set a timer for a hour and stirred, checked water level, and repeat. At 6 hrs I smashed and ate but could of went longer. A dollop of sour cream is a nice finish. Taking left overs and making mexican pizza this evening. Would make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This turned out great. I did soak my beans overnight and cooked them in the crockpot on low for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This came out great. A HUUGE hit with the family. Things I've learned.. Weigh the bag before you assume its 2 lbs.. I must have ended up with 10 lbs of cooked beans. Soak the beans overnight, they won't absorb as much water during cooking.. For my family this was perfect for the beef/bean burritos we made but would never eat it as a main or side dish. For us, it's to make with burritos. Or as a dip but a lot of trouble for some bean dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used 1/2 pinto and 1/2 black beans added 1 4 oz can of diced green chili's and 2 T of taco seasoning as well as other ingredients and it turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Tried these today. Best pinto bean recipe so far and the family loved them too! I followed the recipe exactly, used 2 teaspoons of salt and added a 1/2 cup of water toward the end of cooking to keep them from drying out but I think they would have been fine without the added water. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States