One Minute Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
If you are looking for regular cake frosting I do not recommend this recipe. I made the mistake of using the icing instead of frosting when I found this recipe. It is definitely an icing and not a frosting. I used it on the "One Bowl Chocolate Cake" featured on this site. There was not enough to ice the whole cake and it set very firm. Recommend for cookies not for cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I needed to make icing before going to work this morning for a cake that I baked last night. It was wonderful. However it was only enough to place between the layers and cover the top with some drizzle. But that suits me, not huge icing fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenHendrks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very good chocolate icing. Be carefull, it sets up fast. Barely had enough to cover my 9x13 cake. Double or maybe triple if icing a layered cake. Better yet, make multiple batches if you can't use it quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I loved it! I tried it because the ingredients are almost exact to no-bake cookies and thought, hmmmm, how interesting! Of course,just like no-bake cookies you need to be very precise in your in how long you boil it. Too little will be too sticky, a little more than you should and you get no bake cookie,way too much and you get almost hard tootsie roll candy. :) But hey! That is the same with no bake cookies, right?:) I am already dreaming up some add-ons to experiment with for future stuff. I think I'm liking it best on my brownies for now. Thanks! Fun recipe. P.S.You're right, pour and gently smooth with rubber spatula. No direct spreading. But that's kind of common sense with the texture.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Really simple to make and delicious. I poured the entire thing over a chocolate bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
The end result of this icing was absolutely perfect. I made it to top off the Tiramisu Cheesecake (also on this AR site) that had chilled in the fridge for a few hours. It spread perfectly to the edges, and set up nicely. You can obviously adjust the amount of milk to suit the consistency you're looking for. Next time, I might try a liqueur in place of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
not sweet enough. Great if you like dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This was so so so easy, yummy and beautifully shiny and smooth. I almost didn't' want to put it on my cake, just eat it out of the bowl instead! I halved the recipe and used it for an 8x8 lemon cake. I boiled for a minute, took it off of the heat and whisked it until it was the right consistency. Make sure you don't boil a second too long or it will harden too much when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as written. If you like homemade cocoa fudge as icing, this one is for you. It is not creamy - it is fudgy. It sets up quickly and becomes difficult to spread. You must be looking for the consistency of fudge to like this icing. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I made this for my chocoalte layer cake (with mousee between the layers, yum). I read alot of reviews before making this, and decided to use a wire whisk after taking it off the heat. It really does thicken fast as it cools..so after about 3 mins of just whisking it i poured it over my cake right in the middle, and let it run all around. The end result was a little different then i imagined, i guess i was thinking it would turn out like a ganache, but it just turned into some gooey sticky fudge like sauce,which did harden at least. It is super tasty and i probably WILL be making this again, maybe ontop of brownies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States