One Hundred Thousand Calorie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
OOOMMMMGGGG THIS IS THE BEST CAKE EVER!!!!! My husband is a HUGE german chocolate and caramel fan so he LOVES this!! I bought the german chocolate frosting and put it on top, VERY GOOD!!! I did cook it 6 min the first time then 20 minutes and it got slightly burnt on the top, maybe 6 min and 15 min would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These were WONDERFUL! I agree with most readers, that the cooking time should be increased. Also, next time I bake it I plan on decreasing the butter by 1/4C as I always feel guilty baking such a decadent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was the biggest hit of the night. Everyone kept raving about them! I did use pecans instead of walnuts because they are the better nut!! So, so easy to make up. I melted my carmels with the milk, in the microwave. I did it the first couple of times for one minute each, stirring after each one. When I could see it melting more, I only put it in for 30 seconds at a time, stirring after each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I'm a baker and have been making this bar for years. Here's how we make it: Don't melt the butter. Pecans instead of walnuts, use a 14 oz. bag of caramels. Put 2/3 of the batter in the pan and bake about 6-8 min.(not 3) until the top is no longer dark and shiney. Pour caramel over then sprinkle the chips on top. Spoon small mounds of remaining batter over the top. Return to oven 6-8 min. You may have to adjust baking time the second time depending on your oven. It's also best to let it sit for several hours or overnight for before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
wonderful...delicious..great...wonderful, delecious, great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Gina, thank you so much for posting a review that led me to this recipe! Wonderfully delicious! These are a hit and will be made often! You have made my staff very happy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
These are delicious and can be made with regular Devil's Food cake mix, if you don't have German chocolate handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is such a cool recipe. I asked myself about a hundred times though, "really, no eggs, no oil?" I followed the suggestion by the baker-reviewer and when I was spreading the first part in the pan I thought for sure I was making it wrong, but then it came out looking ok. I was kind of confused because there wasnt much dough left over for the top, but I found that through cooking it spread out and in the end this is a great looking dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These won me a cookie-contest at work! I followed the review from the baker, too, and it came out fine, but I had to spread the mounds of cake mix out with a spatula during that second round of baking. The caramel gives it a distinct "oomph" that distinguishes it from other brownies/bars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Oh good GOD!! This is a sweet tooth's dream! The only difficulty I had was patting the second half of the batter on top of all the middle ingredients. So I spooned it over and spead it out as best as I could. Made no difference in the end though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States