One Hundred Thousand Calorie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
So sweet, this will fix any chocolate craving you have for a week. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years (since I was in high school). Somewhere along the way I got tired of unwrapping all the carmels and deciede to try a carmel topping in a jar instead....it works great! It bake the first layer, then I pour on the carmel (I think I usually use Mrs. Richardson's), sprinkle the chips and add the top layer of cake batter mixure. They are a little stickier, but less work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
my man wouldnt even wait for it to cool, he had a plateful! next helping will be warmed up with a big glob of vanilla bean ice cream YUM! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm good! I messed up the dough and only added 1/3 cup of evap milk. I baked the dough for about 10 minutes- until the top was no longer shiny. When I melted the caramels in the microwave, I added 2/3 cup evap milk (to make up for what I didn't put in the batter originally), poured that over the baked dough, sprinkled the choc. chips on the caramel, sprinkled the nuts over that (used walnuts) and then plopped 'piles' of remaining batter over the toppings- didn't try to spread it out at all. I ended up cooking this for much longer than the recipe states- started with 15 minutes and checked it 5-10 min. intervals until it wasn't 'jiggly' anymore- I think I ended up cooking it for about 35 minutes. Keep an eye on it as it's cooking and you'll be ok. These are DECADENT and delicious!!!!!!!!! Thanks for a great dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Oh my! I made these for the holidays and people loved them, even if most thought these were brownies. I used Swiss chocolate cake mix because I could not find German. Also, I used caramel spread (like kids put on toast) instead of the melted caramels. This was easy and tasted great. I was sure that I did not have enough "dough" to cover for the top layer but the cake batter spead nicely while baking and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by J Walter Jones
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These were good but you have to be a SERIOUS sweet-tooth to appreciate them. They were a hit with others. Hubbie says they were too rich but managed to eat at least 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Walter Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Seville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These won me a cookie-contest at work! I followed the review from the baker, too, and it came out fine, but I had to spread the mounds of cake mix out with a spatula during that second round of baking. The caramel gives it a distinct "oomph" that distinguishes it from other brownies/bars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is such a cool recipe. I asked myself about a hundred times though, "really, no eggs, no oil?" I followed the suggestion by the baker-reviewer and when I was spreading the first part in the pan I thought for sure I was making it wrong, but then it came out looking ok. I was kind of confused because there wasnt much dough left over for the top, but I found that through cooking it spread out and in the end this is a great looking dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Oh good GOD!! This is a sweet tooth's dream! The only difficulty I had was patting the second half of the batter on top of all the middle ingredients. So I spooned it over and spead it out as best as I could. Made no difference in the end though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I'm a baker and have been making this bar for years. Here's how we make it: Don't melt the butter. Pecans instead of walnuts, use a 14 oz. bag of caramels. Put 2/3 of the batter in the pan and bake about 6-8 min.(not 3) until the top is no longer dark and shiney. Pour caramel over then sprinkle the chips on top. Spoon small mounds of remaining batter over the top. Return to oven 6-8 min. You may have to adjust baking time the second time depending on your oven. It's also best to let it sit for several hours or overnight for before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States