One Hundred Thousand Calorie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I'm a baker and have been making this bar for years. Here's how we make it: Don't melt the butter. Pecans instead of walnuts, use a 14 oz. bag of caramels. Put 2/3 of the batter in the pan and bake about 6-8 min.(not 3) until the top is no longer dark and shiney. Pour caramel over then sprinkle the chips on top. Spoon small mounds of remaining batter over the top. Return to oven 6-8 min. You may have to adjust baking time the second time depending on your oven. It's also best to let it sit for several hours or overnight for before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Oh my! I made these for the holidays and people loved them, even if most thought these were brownies. I used Swiss chocolate cake mix because I could not find German. Also, I used caramel spread (like kids put on toast) instead of the melted caramels. This was easy and tasted great. I was sure that I did not have enough "dough" to cover for the top layer but the cake batter spead nicely while baking and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm good! I messed up the dough and only added 1/3 cup of evap milk. I baked the dough for about 10 minutes- until the top was no longer shiny. When I melted the caramels in the microwave, I added 2/3 cup evap milk (to make up for what I didn't put in the batter originally), poured that over the baked dough, sprinkled the choc. chips on the caramel, sprinkled the nuts over that (used walnuts) and then plopped 'piles' of remaining batter over the toppings- didn't try to spread it out at all. I ended up cooking this for much longer than the recipe states- started with 15 minutes and checked it 5-10 min. intervals until it wasn't 'jiggly' anymore- I think I ended up cooking it for about 35 minutes. Keep an eye on it as it's cooking and you'll be ok. These are DECADENT and delicious!!!!!!!!! Thanks for a great dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is such a cool recipe. I asked myself about a hundred times though, "really, no eggs, no oil?" I followed the suggestion by the baker-reviewer and when I was spreading the first part in the pan I thought for sure I was making it wrong, but then it came out looking ok. I was kind of confused because there wasnt much dough left over for the top, but I found that through cooking it spread out and in the end this is a great looking dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is very similar to a recipe that I've been making for years (Turtle Brownies) with the cooking times being just a bit different: the first half of the cake batter is baked for 6 minutes (then the caramels & stuff are layered on) and then final assembled pan is baked for an additional 20 minutes. It's delicious & decadent...and meant to be chewy & soft. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2000
I do not believe the baking time was correctly submitted. Is it possible to have that checked into? The taste was excellent, I am just concerned, again, about the actual cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendyfou2010
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have sent this to my husband's workplace and taken it to my own company holiday party. People LOVE IT! I used pecans instead of walnuts because my husband loves pecans. I have also substituted caramel chips/melting pellets (bought by the bag that usually come with a pack of sticks inside the bag since they're sold to melt for caramel apples) instead of unwrapping all those caramels. When I'm a little short on caramel chips, I've also substituted a bit of caramel ice cream topping to make up the difference & there is no difference in the end product. I did follow several reviewer's advice to pour 2/3 of the mix (not 1/2) in the pan to bake the first time (bake 6 - 8 minutes or until top no longer shiny), then at the end I add the remaining 1/3 of the mix (not 1/2) on top of the caramel, nuts & chips & bake an additional 6 - 8 minutes to finish it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These won me a cookie-contest at work! I followed the review from the baker, too, and it came out fine, but I had to spread the mounds of cake mix out with a spatula during that second round of baking. The caramel gives it a distinct "oomph" that distinguishes it from other brownies/bars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I just made these and although they were runny, they were excellent. I found out the next day it was much easier to cut and serve as "bars". These are the best bars and everyone thought they were brownies. Great to make ahead of time for a function in the next day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is a keeper. So easy to make. Used a chocolate fudge mix and used jarred caramel instead of wrapped pieces. Came out like the best brownies I've every made and ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States