One Hundred Thousand Calorie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Gina, thank you so much for posting a review that led me to this recipe! Wonderfully delicious! These are a hit and will be made often! You have made my staff very happy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
These are delicious and can be made with regular Devil's Food cake mix, if you don't have German chocolate handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
wonderful...delicious..great...wonderful, delecious, great....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These were WONDERFUL! I agree with most readers, that the cooking time should be increased. Also, next time I bake it I plan on decreasing the butter by 1/4C as I always feel guilty baking such a decadent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was the biggest hit of the night. Everyone kept raving about them! I did use pecans instead of walnuts because they are the better nut!! So, so easy to make up. I melted my carmels with the milk, in the microwave. I did it the first couple of times for one minute each, stirring after each one. When I could see it melting more, I only put it in for 30 seconds at a time, stirring after each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
OOOMMMMGGGG THIS IS THE BEST CAKE EVER!!!!! My husband is a HUGE german chocolate and caramel fan so he LOVES this!! I bought the german chocolate frosting and put it on top, VERY GOOD!!! I did cook it 6 min the first time then 20 minutes and it got slightly burnt on the top, maybe 6 min and 15 min would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
this had fantastic flavor. Very Rich, very delicious but yes, the cooking time isnt right. I think next time I need to add 10 minutes next time - mine came out too gooey and had to dish it out with a spoon instead of cut into bars (but we still ate it!) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
People at work LOOOOVED these turtle-like brownies!! Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I have made several slices in the last couple of days and this one rates as my husbands favorite. How can you go wrong with chocolate chips, caramel and nuts? I did bake it the extra 5 minutes as was suggested in several reviews. It will be a repeat here many times I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
This is very similar to a recipe that I've been making for years (Turtle Brownies) with the cooking times being just a bit different: the first half of the cake batter is baked for 6 minutes (then the caramels & stuff are layered on) and then final assembled pan is baked for an additional 20 minutes. It's delicious & decadent...and meant to be chewy & soft. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States