One Hundred Thousand Calorie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These dessert bars are very delicious, but dangerous! As named, they have too many calories to eat them as much as tempted! Beware:) The recipe is very simple to follow and I recommend following the caramel directions(bag of 50 caramels) One piece of advice would be to try to avoid large amounts of caramel around the edges of baking dish, as the caramel was very difficult to get off of my dish. I added about 8 oz of chocolate chips(milk chocolate) for a decadent, but not overbearing chocolate flavor! Delicious, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracydenese29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
this was very good and easy to make, had several people ask for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendyfou2010
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have sent this to my husband's workplace and taken it to my own company holiday party. People LOVE IT! I used pecans instead of walnuts because my husband loves pecans. I have also substituted caramel chips/melting pellets (bought by the bag that usually come with a pack of sticks inside the bag since they're sold to melt for caramel apples) instead of unwrapping all those caramels. When I'm a little short on caramel chips, I've also substituted a bit of caramel ice cream topping to make up the difference & there is no difference in the end product. I did follow several reviewer's advice to pour 2/3 of the mix (not 1/2) in the pan to bake the first time (bake 6 - 8 minutes or until top no longer shiny), then at the end I add the remaining 1/3 of the mix (not 1/2) on top of the caramel, nuts & chips & bake an additional 6 - 8 minutes to finish it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These are outstanding...always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
These were so yummy! I will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christenlopez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I have had this recipe for years, but at my house it goes by the name turtle brownies. I also use pecans and prebake the crust part. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These are amazing, and have become my new go-to for bake sales/dessert potlucks. I follow the advice given here to extend the baking times-- first baking takes ~8min, second one ~20min. I also add a chocolate drizzle across the top for decoration. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I just made these and although they were runny, they were excellent. I found out the next day it was much easier to cut and serve as "bars". These are the best bars and everyone thought they were brownies. Great to make ahead of time for a function in the next day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Delicious! Very very rich and great for satisfying chocolate and caramel cravings. 4 stars though as they just don't hold together well and therefore I couldn't make this for company or to take somewhere as they aren't solid/firm enough to hold and eat even after sitting for many hours. However, I will make them again . . . it will be awesome spooned when warm from the oven into bowls and topped with vanilla ice cream. That I could definitely serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Delicious!! I used Mrs. Richardson's Caramel topping instead of melting caramels and the bars were so tasty!! I made mine without nuts though as I'm not a nut fan. Two thumbs way up!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States