One Hundred Thousand Calorie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I've been making these for years and everybody loves them. The only change I make is to add unsweetened coconot shreds to the caramel/nut layer. I always refer to them as German Chocolate Caramel Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I used to make these before my youngest son developed a nut allergy. They ARE heavenly! However I would switch up my nuts with almonds and/or pecans if walnuts were not available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I've been making this recipe for years, calling it Snicker Brownies. The first time I made it, the original recipe called for 3/4C melted butter and 1/3C evap milk for the cake part. I felt it was too greasy for my taste, so I cut the butter to 1/2C and add 1 egg. It also makes the cake a tad fluffier, which I like. I also use chopped peanuts instead of walnuts, and put them in the cake part. I bake about 8 minutes the first time, then 15-20 the next. Definitely let them set for several hours before cutting, or you'll have a mess on your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are delicious! The recipe is very similar to "caramel brownies" which I make and is always a hit. My husband thought this was a little rich, but not too rich for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAG29

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This has been a favorite at our house for over 20 years and is now a favorite for the next generation of our family. I bake the bottom layer 10 minutes. You can use a toothpick to help spread the globs of the second cake layer on top of the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
They disappear so quickly! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is a keeper. So easy to make. Used a chocolate fudge mix and used jarred caramel instead of wrapped pieces. Came out like the best brownies I've every made and ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I personally did not care for these bars. They taste to much like the German Chocolate cake and the caramels are a pain. Not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
These were really great. I have to admit I did switch around the toppings as I had a coworker who loves German Chocolate cake, so I added coconut - but everyone said it was the best "brownie" they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janice
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
What can I say? There are reasons recipes like this, 7 layer bars,Bacardi rum cake,Honey Bun cake and the like are still around. What is that reason? People LOVE them!!! They are some of the few recipes that not only produce consistent raves but they are EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janice
Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States