One-Hundred-One-Year-Old Pastry Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
this dough was sooooooooooooo greasy! Yes it was fine to work with but....not cool with the amount of shortening. I used half of the mixed wet ingredients called for. Anyway...I went at it again with my own proportions (to use up rest of liquids) and with 1/2 the shortening and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was a great pastry crust. Did use lard instead of shortening - did they have shortening 101 years ago? WARNING - you will not be using the entire 1 1/2 water! I used my food processor to pulse the fat and flour into crumbs - it really helps to have your fat cold when making any pastry. After assembling the pie I used some of the left over egg / vinegar / water to brush the top crust. It worked out really nicely for chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I use this recipe for all my pies now. It is easy, flaky, and holds up well for liquidey pies. Don't add too much egg/vinegar mixture! That will leave the batter tasting very eggy and not flaky. Add just enough that it holds together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was okay. It's pretty flaky, but lacking in flavour. I would make it again, using part butter. I did like the way the bottom crust held up to my juicy blueberry pie, not at all soggy. As well, it rolled out really nicely (I rolled it out between plastic wrap, no addtional flour needed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
this isn't exactly great for flakey pastry puff kind of dough, but it's really good for the bottom of savory pies. i use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
The first time I made this, it didn't turn out so well, but I tried it again with the leftover liquid, and it was extremely good and flaky! I had to use closer to six tablespoons of liquid though, not four, to hold the dough together properly. Mixing in the bag helped a lot. Thanks for that suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Wow! I come from a long line of women who are known far and wide for their exceptionally bad pastry, and I definately fit into the family tree. I have tried dozens of pastry recipes and at best they resemble soggy cardboard or old shoe leather. I have made this recipe twice now, and both times it's been nice and flakey, just like my MIL makes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
This is the same recipe passed down from my g-g-grandmother who used it in her restaurant. She used it to bake pies for the original Bob Evans before he become famous. They were family friends & neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I'm a professional pie maker and have used this recipe for years. Produces a flakey brown crust. When you add the water and mix slightly transfer all ingredients to plastic bag and finish mixing in bag and store in refrigerator. This eliminates handling too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States