One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
This cake is really spongy and moist. I used cake flour instead and it turned out just sooo delicious. I baked it for 55 minutes but it didn't matter. My boyfriend is a picky cake eater, but he ate half loaf after he gave it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I think that you might have been using a convection oven because I had to bake this cake for at least 1 hour. I added a little more lemon than the recipe calls for and it turned out fantastic!! Thanks Kimberly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
This recipe was incredibly simple. I added a lemon syrup made of 1/4 c lemon juice and 1/4 c of sugar. Placed on low heat until sugar dissolves and pour over cake. I also added a lemon glaze made of 1 c confectioner's sugar (sifted) 1 3/4 Tbs of lemon juice whipped together until smooth, and poured over a completely cooled cake. It was outstanding. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Good recipe- I made 1 and a half the ingredients because I had a bigger loaf pan (9" by 5") and then cooked it for 1 hour and 10 mins. I also used cake flour (made the cake light and fluffy) but had no lemon essence so used one lemon and some zest of the lemon. This may not have been enough lemon for me but as I also made a lemon syrup to pour on the cake straight after it came out of the oven (see previous reviews), this really zinged up the lemon flavour. It was GREAT!!! and I will definitely make this cake again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
Everyone who tasted this cake loved it. I will definitely make it again. It was the best pound cake recipe I've yet to run across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Yummy fabulous cake! Took longer, I agree - about 50 minutes or so, but was scrump-dilly-umptious! I served this at a tea party, dusted with powdered sugar, sliced thin, and surrounded by delicate lemon slices and eye-catching ripe strawberries. Had to send the 2 leftover slices home with a girlfriend! My (picky) husband was disappointed...and you know that is always a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I agree, the cake took about 50 mintues to cook. But it was worth every minute. I am usually not a pound cake lover. But I figured I would give it a try. Boy was I surprised. This cake was great. Easy to make and delicious. My husband ate nearly the entire cake. I would definitely make again. However, I added a lemon glaze to the top for that extra lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Very good! I used lemon zest and fresh lemon juice. Baked it longer too and it was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Oh, but what a wonderful cake it is. Very lemony, full of character, a little rum added after baking made it all better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Easy To make, everyone liked it, I added lemon Zest and used lemon juice, also drizzeled lemon with sugar over top. Nice texture, made many times since finding the recipe. Florence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States