One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
used for a wedding cake with great success and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
i had to double the recpie.I also used orange zest+juice instead of lemons and also made an orange syrup.It was awesome I'm going to make a blood orange+ a grapefruit one eventually...but next i'm making a key lime one substitutioning half the milk for cream cheese...wish me luck on the last one...fiances bday cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Well I followed the direction, exactly for a change. Cooked for 1 hour like most people suggested, I have a convection oven, used a toothpick and well I got a sloppy mess! even the parts that were cooked had a less than desirable texture. I'm going to try a different recipe, for the same thing and see if I get a real pound cake. I will add a photo as well,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
i liked this cake, i didn't have lemon extract so i used orange extract and used two teaspoons. it did take a little longer to cook than stated.will make again thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
It's a good recipe if you're out of eggs! I felt the need to upgrade it: I gave up the lemon essence (natural stuff is better by far!) & added 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice + rind.Instead of milk I used 1 cup orange juice + rind + 1 tbsp honey + 5 mashed dates + 1 finely grated carrot. I used wholemeal flour + 1 tsp baking powder + some crushed almonds. I made muffins instead of cake and they were yummy as well as healthy (my kids took them to school)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessKiwi07
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was just okay to me and my family. Like others said it needs more lemon, and it bakes for an hour, my mom suggested putting a glaze on top. Also mine came out a little crumbly, but with a little TLC this could be a five star pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly except I put 2 teaspoons of lemon extract in the mixture and I still really couldn't taste the lemon flavor. Also, the directions say to bake for 30 minutes but it ended up taking more like an hour before the middle was completely cooked so make sure to do the toothpick test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
this is the best pound cake recipe I have found so far. following suggestions from others, I baked it for 50 mins. and it turned out just right. I prefer less lemon taste so I only added vanilla extract. Great with fresh Northwest berries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Kellebrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Like the others, i used lemon juice and tasted better, also the cake cooked around an hour to have a crusty top. This recipe is very simple, i've repeated it several times and my kids loved it everytime....thanks for this fantastic easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
The best pound cake I've ever made or even eaten! I nixed the milk and lemon extract, and substituted fresh-squeezed lemon juice (same amount as milk), and zested the lemons used. I've made it twice already, and gotten raves each time- once from my uber-picky brother-in-law, and again from my impossible-to-please mother-in-law. Lemony, light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States