One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I double the recipe to put it in a bundt pan and i made a lemon glaze and a drizzle. Every one wants me to make them this cake. Also instead of the lemon extract i use about 5 tablespoons of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was an amazing cake!!! I will make this many many times to come. I changed minimal ingredients... I used half and half instead of milk, "I can't believe it's not butter" instead of real butter and added the zest of one lemon and the juice of half a lemon. It turned out so moist and lemony that it was gone before it ever cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was a bad recipe, I followed the recipe and it turned out like cornbread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLitterbox101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Very easy to make. Doubled the recipe, used a bundt cake pan, and baked an hour. Lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
used for a wedding cake with great success and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
i had to double the recpie.I also used orange zest+juice instead of lemons and also made an orange syrup.It was awesome I'm going to make a blood orange+ a grapefruit one eventually...but next i'm making a key lime one substitutioning half the milk for cream cheese...wish me luck on the last one...fiances bday cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Well I followed the direction, exactly for a change. Cooked for 1 hour like most people suggested, I have a convection oven, used a toothpick and well I got a sloppy mess! even the parts that were cooked had a less than desirable texture. I'm going to try a different recipe, for the same thing and see if I get a real pound cake. I will add a photo as well,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
i liked this cake, i didn't have lemon extract so i used orange extract and used two teaspoons. it did take a little longer to cook than stated.will make again thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
It's a good recipe if you're out of eggs! I felt the need to upgrade it: I gave up the lemon essence (natural stuff is better by far!) & added 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice + rind.Instead of milk I used 1 cup orange juice + rind + 1 tbsp honey + 5 mashed dates + 1 finely grated carrot. I used wholemeal flour + 1 tsp baking powder + some crushed almonds. I made muffins instead of cake and they were yummy as well as healthy (my kids took them to school)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrincessKiwi07
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was just okay to me and my family. Like others said it needs more lemon, and it bakes for an hour, my mom suggested putting a glaze on top. Also mine came out a little crumbly, but with a little TLC this could be a five star pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States