One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
One correction: baking time is 75 minutes. Besides that, this is the best pound cake I've ever made or had.. totally out of this world! And I make over a dozen type of pound cakes. I didn't have lemon extract, so I substituted 2 teaspoons of Limoncello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
not enough lemon flavour. Made again using ideas from other reviews. I added lemon rid and lemon juice to the batter and added a lemon glaze. Was much better. It did get dark quick but it may be my fault. I will make again with the extra lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Excellent! Left out lemon, used only vanilla extract. Baked 30 min @325 in convection oven. Perfect served with strawberries and cream. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great pound cake. I cooked it for almost an hour not the 1/2 suggested. I baked it in a loaf pan. the comments about it not being lemony enough are correct. I will definitely up my lemon flavouring next time I make it. However this recipe is a definite keeper. Loved it for texture and quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Easy to make, decent flavor, but rather coarse and not quite sweet enough for me. I added the finely grated rind of a lemon, so it was nice and lemony. However, for my money, the Buttermilk Pound Cake II recipe is a far better cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDCollins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is excellent! The only change I made, instead of using lemon extract, I zested a whole lemon into the batter. I did not have eny extract. It had a great tart flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Helen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Just made this and it came out wonderfully! I added the zest of one lemon, and 1/2 tsp more of the lemon extract, but the lemon flavour is still quite subtle. I'd add more next time. Also, would be great with some dried cranberries, or poppyseeds added to the batter. Mine turned out more cake-like than a dense pound cake. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Excellent!!! Haters can hate....they will never go away, but this recipe was great. If you can't bake well, it will not work for you. I see that there are a lot of creative individuals out there who make the most out of it, by using their own little twists...congrats to you, for being positive with it!! To the others...don't hate on it, just know that it's not the recipe for YOU. My kids enjoyed it. I too, added a little twist with lemon, and a little less sugar, but it still turned out great, based on the original recipe. It does seem to be a different type of pound cake, but still great, in my opinion. Cheers to you, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very easy to make, turned out great. It took about 80 minutes to cook though. I added about 2 tbsps of fresh lemon juice and zest. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melfoisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was incredibly easy to make, and delicious! I put fresh strawberries, and whipped cream on top, and it was awesome! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States