One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was very easy to make. I didn't have any lemon juice so I used some orange with mango and it tasted great. I made cupcakes instead of a loaf and it went in very quickly. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Simple recipe but mine also came out crumbly like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
The inside is moist, and the crust is crisp like shortbread. I used extra lemon extract in place of the vanilla, and I found the lemon flavor to be just right. Be sure to soften the butter well to help it incorporate nicely. Also, the cake took 55 minutes to bake in my oven, so don't count on it taking only 30. I was well worth the wait though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
i made this recipe to the t, well the only things i changed was i used 2 teaspoons of lemon extract instead of 1. I also drizzled it with a lemon juice/sugar glaze as other reviewers suggested. There was plenty of lemon flavor, but just like others said, this "pound" cake was way too crumbly. Not what comes to mind when i think of pound cake. More like sweet, lemony, cornbread. Don't think i'll be making this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Not what I expected. The one egg is crazy. It tasted like sweet corn bread. My granny said pound cake needs at least 6 eggs and a pound of each ingredient to be called pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Perfect, exactly the kind of pound cake I wanted to make. Using only one egg did not compromise the quality, taste, or texture of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Bursting with Lemon Flavor. Excellent - The best lemon poundcake I ever had or made. It was very moist. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Wonderful pound cake!! Omitted lemon flavoring and used 4 tablespoons of lemon juice and 1/2 pkg. of lemon jello!! You could taste the lemon flavor more!! Good with strawberries over top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Very good pound cake, with a few changes. I add a couple tablespoons of lemon juice to the batter and after it's finished baking I top it with a lemon glaze while it is still warm. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My 6.5 year old twins would give it more stars if they could (100 was one amount they said!). Easy to make! We did not have lemon, so we omitted it. We also used a bundt pan, so it cooked for 45 minutes. We made Vanilla Glaze to top it. YUMMY! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States