One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
this was heavy and ended up tasting more like a corn muffin. would probably be good as muffins with fresh fruit. i won't try making a less ingredient pound cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherwhited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe actually took 55 minutes to cook, not 30. I added a lemon glaze frosting over it, which gave it some flavor. Without it, I wouldn't have even been able to taste any hint of lemon in this lemon pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not at all sensational. I guess it's okay for what it is: emergency dessert when you are in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is a simple and fantastic recipe! I agree with some of the other reviews; you should add more flavoring than called for in the recipe. I also add a lemon glaze on top that really sets it off! Consistency is the key with this cake, and it is one of the most consistent I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleyfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe has compelled me to write a review! Do not make this cake. I did not care for this recipe. And if I could have given it a negative star I would have. It took over an hour and a half to cook, not 30 minutes. The crumb was uneven in many places as well as flavors. And of course the crust was hard as a rock, but amazingly despite the 1hr 45 min cooking time , the inside was moist. I was forced to make a glaze because the cake isn't sweet enough. The Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake is much better. All that said... I wish people on this site would rate recipes only if they've actually used it as is. Frankly I am tired of people listing the dozen or so changes that they make to a recipe then giving it 4 or 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Good loaf. This "cake' was not dense enough to be considered a "Pound Cake" but was quite nice. I enjoyed it a lot. (3 stars for improper designation)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Very easy, quick to prepare recipe. I had to bake mine for quite a bit longer, but I also added a cup of frozen cranberries to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iliketocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The cake was delicious. I had no lemon extract so I added about 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon zest. Had to add more milk as the batter was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I used this today and it turned out very well. I did add more milk than it called for because the batter was almost like biscuit dough. Very easy and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake was easy to make but I have a problem with the salt taste after it finish baking. I think the one teaspoon is to much. I will make it again but the salt will be reduce or eliminated. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States