One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Excellent! Used the juice of one lemon instead of the extract (just because I had one in the fridge), so I baked for an extra 10 minutes to compensate for the extra liquid, what a great, not too sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was really good. I served it with sliced strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
EASY for a first time baker. Need to made it more lemony somehow. I doubled the amount of Lemon extact but it could still use more. Lemon Icing will help but I'd prefer to have the cake taste more lemony. Maybe some lemon zest next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe, beat sugar and butter for about 5 minutes in the mixer. mixed only one tsp salt and 2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. almond flavoring. added it to 2 eggs and 2 cups of milk(approx.) zest of lemon and its juice. put it into a bundt pan and cooked for 1 hour and 15 minutes. mixed another lemon juice with icing sugar, made a runny glaze and poured it over it when it came out of oven, served it with fresh strawberries and fresh mint with ice cream! DELIOUS!! the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I'm giving it full stars because I didn't follow the directions, so I'll give it the benefit of the doubt and say any flaws were my fault. I creamed the butter and sugar together, as I've never seen butter CUT IN to a cake? Then added egg and extracts (plus zest and a bit of juice), then alternated milk and flour/baking powder/salt. I was a little leery when I finished the batter because it looked a little thick for cake-- almost very sticky wet cookie dough, not at all pourable. But I spooned it into the pan, and it was fine. It turned out okay, but even with zest wasn't at all lemony. And I wouldn't call it pound-cakey either-- it wasn't dense, it was a bit crumbly, and didn't have a very rich taste. It was a nice, faintly lemony regular cake that happened to be in a loaf pan. :P Cupcakes (with more lemon punch) might be the best use of this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmodo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
this was heavy and ended up tasting more like a corn muffin. would probably be good as muffins with fresh fruit. i won't try making a less ingredient pound cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherwhited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe actually took 55 minutes to cook, not 30. I added a lemon glaze frosting over it, which gave it some flavor. Without it, I wouldn't have even been able to taste any hint of lemon in this lemon pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Not at all sensational. I guess it's okay for what it is: emergency dessert when you are in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is a simple and fantastic recipe! I agree with some of the other reviews; you should add more flavoring than called for in the recipe. I also add a lemon glaze on top that really sets it off! Consistency is the key with this cake, and it is one of the most consistent I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleyfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe has compelled me to write a review! Do not make this cake. I did not care for this recipe. And if I could have given it a negative star I would have. It took over an hour and a half to cook, not 30 minutes. The crumb was uneven in many places as well as flavors. And of course the crust was hard as a rock, but amazingly despite the 1hr 45 min cooking time , the inside was moist. I was forced to make a glaze because the cake isn't sweet enough. The Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake is much better. All that said... I wish people on this site would rate recipes only if they've actually used it as is. Frankly I am tired of people listing the dozen or so changes that they make to a recipe then giving it 4 or 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States