One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I have made this cake several times. It does have to cook longer than stated (45 min. for me), but it is excellent, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I used this recipe to make gluten free vegan orange cupcakes. Swap all purpose for your favorite GF blend flour and OJ instead of milk, shortening for butter, 1/3 cup applesauce for the egg and its an allergy friendly treat for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great recipe =) Nice and moist, and good for cupcakes too. The only modification that I make is adding 3 tsp of lemon essence into the cake batter, rather than 1 tsp (as we prefer the flavor to be stronger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This cake is delicious ! I used a gluten free all purpose flour. You can use 1 tsp vanilla extract and 2 tsp lemon extract to make up for the "pasty" flavor some gluten free flours have. I always top my poundcakes off with a powdered sugar glaze....this cake is a winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The cake was yummy. I added some chopped candied cherries to the recipe for color. Lighter option to the typical pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica__utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This cake is amazing, especially with a lemon glaze or vanilla frosting! Especially if you have trouble keeping eggs stocked in the fridge, I go through them faster than anything else I use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenallaDrone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I started making this before I realized I was out of lemon extract. I used 1/8 tsp or so of sweet orange oil instead and it was fantastic. (I just added a little bit at a time and then tasted the batter until it was orangey enough) It took about an hour to bake, but it came out perfectly. I added a lemon glaze made from pwd sugar and lemon juice, and served this at a cookout. Everyone loved it, both kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
good texture, not too heavy but not light either. since i like a lemony cake, i reduced the milk to 3/4 cup and replaced with 1/4 cup lemon juice. i also put in the rind of 2 lemons. the cake was then lemony when it came out of the oven. but since i wanted it even more tart, i poured over some lemon juice+icing sugar mixture on top (juice of 2 lemons, then 4 to 5 tsp of icing sugar). i used trim milk to lessen the fat. next time i will also reduce the butter and see how that will go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Not a bad recipe. I creamed the butter and sugar first, then added the egg and stirred it good, then the other moist ingredients, then added the dry to that. Also, I used 1/2 tbs of vanilla extract and the juice of one lemon (about 1/4 cup), no lemon extract because I didn't have any. It could've used a little more lemon juice probably, but it turned out good. I baked it for 50 min. and I coated the pan with sugar before pouring the batter in, and sprinkled sugar on top before baking- gave it a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Added lemon zest and did the glaze as suggested by another poster. Still didn't have enough lemon flavour for my taste but it was good none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States