One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Excellent!!! Haters can hate....they will never go away, but this recipe was great. If you can't bake well, it will not work for you. I see that there are a lot of creative individuals out there who make the most out of it, by using their own little twists...congrats to you, for being positive with it!! To the others...don't hate on it, just know that it's not the recipe for YOU. My kids enjoyed it. I too, added a little twist with lemon, and a little less sugar, but it still turned out great, based on the original recipe. It does seem to be a different type of pound cake, but still great, in my opinion. Cheers to you, for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very easy to make, turned out great. It took about 80 minutes to cook though. I added about 2 tbsps of fresh lemon juice and zest. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melfoisy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This was incredibly easy to make, and delicious! I put fresh strawberries, and whipped cream on top, and it was awesome! Everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was dry and tasteless, not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Okay - I may be over-doing the stars just a tad...I think it's 4 1/2 stars really - but ONLY because this cake is a little too crumbly to be truly called pound cake. But other than that, the recipe is extremely easy (I am a terrible cook/baker) and tastes delicious! The only thing I did differently was use Orange Extract instead of lemon because that's what we had. It was unbelievably yummy! I had to whip something together last minute to meet the requirements of a surprise chocolate fondue party. This cake won everyone over (except for the slight crumbly-ness...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This recipe turned out perfect for me. I was a little worried as I read the reviews while it was baking, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Not exactly a pound cake when done. More of a crumb cake. Far too dry for a good pound cake & the timing on the recipe was about half as much as it should've been. Won't be archiving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Very good, despite my best efforts to mess it up! The loaf baked so slow--had to keep putting it back in for 10 mins at a time. Finally ended up at 75 minutes, then it wasn't jiggly in the middly anymore. It's moist and tender. I added the zest of 1 lemon, and used cake flour. And one of those cheap foil pans because I didn't have an 8x4". It came dangerously close to overflowing, I think a 9x5" would have worked. I would definitely recommend this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was fairly dry for us. We did the two different glazes that the first comment suggested and it added quite a bit of flavor. We are going to try another recipe out....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I double the recipe to put it in a bundt pan and i made a lemon glaze and a drizzle. Every one wants me to make them this cake. Also instead of the lemon extract i use about 5 tablespoons of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States