One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This recipe has compelled me to write a review! Do not make this cake. I did not care for this recipe. And if I could have given it a negative star I would have. It took over an hour and a half to cook, not 30 minutes. The crumb was uneven in many places as well as flavors. And of course the crust was hard as a rock, but amazingly despite the 1hr 45 min cooking time , the inside was moist. I was forced to make a glaze because the cake isn't sweet enough. The Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake is much better. All that said... I wish people on this site would rate recipes only if they've actually used it as is. Frankly I am tired of people listing the dozen or so changes that they make to a recipe then giving it 4 or 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Good loaf. This "cake' was not dense enough to be considered a "Pound Cake" but was quite nice. I enjoyed it a lot. (3 stars for improper designation)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Very easy, quick to prepare recipe. I had to bake mine for quite a bit longer, but I also added a cup of frozen cranberries to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iliketocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The cake was delicious. I had no lemon extract so I added about 1 tsp lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon zest. Had to add more milk as the batter was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I used this today and it turned out very well. I did add more milk than it called for because the batter was almost like biscuit dough. Very easy and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake was easy to make but I have a problem with the salt taste after it finish baking. I think the one teaspoon is to much. I will make it again but the salt will be reduce or eliminated. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstexas63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I agree with the other reviews, this cake definately needs some more lemon. I would recommend adding some lemon zest and definately a glaze. I used 1 cup confectioners sugar and 1 3/4 tbsp lemon juice as recommended in another review but added a little lemon zest to give it even more zing. I 1-1/2ed this recipie for my larger loaf pan and it took 70 minutes to bake. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kermitt53

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I baked this in mini (like 4x6ish) loaf pans and it came out great nice and fluffy. It tastes more like an angel food cake than a pound cake, but that's cool, i like angel food cake a lot too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I am giving this 4 stas because it was so simple to make and very good. It was,however, more like a quick bread than a cake - hence, the instructions for cutting in the butter. I noticed some people decided to beat the butter with the sugar, as they would with a cake but I found it worked fine as written. Keep in mind that this method requires a light hand (as in making biscuits) so if you cut in the butter, I would recommend making a well for the wet ingredients and mixing only until blended. I did add a sugar and lemon juice glaze as recommended by another user and this did add a nice lemon flavour. Good recipe - will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I think next time I would like to try a recipe with equal proportions of the main ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States