One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Not a bad recipe. I creamed the butter and sugar first, then added the egg and stirred it good, then the other moist ingredients, then added the dry to that. Also, I used 1/2 tbs of vanilla extract and the juice of one lemon (about 1/4 cup), no lemon extract because I didn't have any. It could've used a little more lemon juice probably, but it turned out good. I baked it for 50 min. and I coated the pan with sugar before pouring the batter in, and sprinkled sugar on top before baking- gave it a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Lanning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Added lemon zest and did the glaze as suggested by another poster. Still didn't have enough lemon flavour for my taste but it was good none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This cake came out very dense and dry and while baking didn't brown at all. If I were to make this cake again, I'd cream the butter and sugar first, add the egg and then the dry ingredients, alternating with the milk, instead of the way it was suggested in the recipe. Also, all I could really taste was the butter. It's too bad that lemon cakes need lots of eggs, because this one-egg recipe definitely needs improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
P.S. It is great with a lemony powdered sugar glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Excellent! Used the juice of one lemon instead of the extract (just because I had one in the fridge), so I baked for an extra 10 minutes to compensate for the extra liquid, what a great, not too sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This was really good. I served it with sliced strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
EASY for a first time baker. Need to made it more lemony somehow. I doubled the amount of Lemon extact but it could still use more. Lemon Icing will help but I'd prefer to have the cake taste more lemony. Maybe some lemon zest next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I doubled the recipe, beat sugar and butter for about 5 minutes in the mixer. mixed only one tsp salt and 2 tsp. of vanilla and 1 tsp. almond flavoring. added it to 2 eggs and 2 cups of milk(approx.) zest of lemon and its juice. put it into a bundt pan and cooked for 1 hour and 15 minutes. mixed another lemon juice with icing sugar, made a runny glaze and poured it over it when it came out of oven, served it with fresh strawberries and fresh mint with ice cream! DELIOUS!! the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I'm giving it full stars because I didn't follow the directions, so I'll give it the benefit of the doubt and say any flaws were my fault. I creamed the butter and sugar together, as I've never seen butter CUT IN to a cake? Then added egg and extracts (plus zest and a bit of juice), then alternated milk and flour/baking powder/salt. I was a little leery when I finished the batter because it looked a little thick for cake-- almost very sticky wet cookie dough, not at all pourable. But I spooned it into the pan, and it was fine. It turned out okay, but even with zest wasn't at all lemony. And I wouldn't call it pound-cakey either-- it wasn't dense, it was a bit crumbly, and didn't have a very rich taste. It was a nice, faintly lemony regular cake that happened to be in a loaf pan. :P Cupcakes (with more lemon punch) might be the best use of this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizmodo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
this was heavy and ended up tasting more like a corn muffin. would probably be good as muffins with fresh fruit. i won't try making a less ingredient pound cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherwhited

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States