One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I added lemon zest and juice from one lemon as other reviewers did, which punched up the flavor considerably. However this loaf took MUCH longer than 1/2 hr to cook, more like an hour. It rose nicely in the oven, but when I took it out it fell considerably and became a condensed lemon puck! I think it might have something to do with the cutting in of the butter and not creaming the sugar and butter together?? What other cake/loaf recipie cuts in butter? Too many changes are needed to make this recipie worthwhile - I would suggest trying another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Great texture and VERY easy to make. I also used 1 1/2 recipe to fill a 9x5 loaf pan and it baked about 70 minutes. I found it had a little too much salt and would have liked more lemon flavor. Added lemon zest and next time will add more and maybe some lemon juice. Could change the extract to almond, toss in some mini choc chips and have a totally different yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I have made this about 5 times now but I add about three tablespoons of poppyseeds. My mother-in-law says they taste just like what she used to get back home in Austria. Definately not as heaving as a pound cake, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
This recipe works best for muffins! I used the same ingredients, but first mixed the flour, b.powder & salt. Then, separately, I creamed the sugar and butter and added the rest of the ingredients to this. I then folded in the dry ingredients to the wet. They made 12 muffins and cooked in 27 minutes. I also added a lemon glaze on top, and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This was quite good and simple to make. It was moist and lemony. I added poppyseed to give it that extra special poppyseed taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This was ok...I too had to cook it much longer (1 hour & 15 minutes). I added poppy seeds. It rose nicely, but was a little too dry for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Good recipe- I made 1 and a half the ingredients because I had a bigger loaf pan (9" by 5") and then cooked it for 1 hour and 10 mins. I also used cake flour (made the cake light and fluffy) but had no lemon essence so used one lemon and some zest of the lemon. This may not have been enough lemon for me but as I also made a lemon syrup to pour on the cake straight after it came out of the oven (see previous reviews), this really zinged up the lemon flavour. It was GREAT!!! and I will definitely make this cake again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIRDINKUM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windhoek, Khomas, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Very good! I used lemon zest and fresh lemon juice. Baked it longer too and it was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I agree, the cake took about 50 mintues to cook. But it was worth every minute. I am usually not a pound cake lover. But I figured I would give it a try. Boy was I surprised. This cake was great. Easy to make and delicious. My husband ate nearly the entire cake. I would definitely make again. However, I added a lemon glaze to the top for that extra lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Yummy fabulous cake! Took longer, I agree - about 50 minutes or so, but was scrump-dilly-umptious! I served this at a tea party, dusted with powdered sugar, sliced thin, and surrounded by delicate lemon slices and eye-catching ripe strawberries. Had to send the 2 leftover slices home with a girlfriend! My (picky) husband was disappointed...and you know that is always a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States