One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I think cakes with more eggs actually taste better. But I also found a way to make this one more moist and taste more of lemon. Every 10 min I'd take the cake out, pour lemon juice on top and cover with thin layer of confectioners sugar. The top got a bit of coating and everything else got very moist. I also tried same cake with orange juice and it got even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This cake was okay when it first came out of the oven but it wasn't very flavorful and it became dry soon after. Maybe I did something wrong but I thought I followed the directions exactly. I've made much better cakes and I made a lemon cake the following week that was to die for so I'll stick to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
it over flowed and had a strange aftertase............... not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I used fresh grated lemon zest instead of the extract - I prefer fresh. I brushed on a lemon juice and sugar syrup while the cake was still hot. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Great except for the salt. Adding salt ruined the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Easy To make, everyone liked it, I added lemon Zest and used lemon juice, also drizzeled lemon with sugar over top. Nice texture, made many times since finding the recipe. Florence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I really didn't care for this recipe. It lacked flavor and was on the dry side. I cooked this for 50 minutes as others had to do. I've made pound cake numerous times and this didn't measure up. I don't think I'll be playing with this recipe since I have a light version of pound cake that turns out well, but requires light sour cream. Sorry Kimberley, I wish I could be more positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Oh, but what a wonderful cake it is. Very lemony, full of character, a little rum added after baking made it all better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very easy to make. Good tasting and nice texture. The only fault I can find is that it does not bake in 30 min. I needed about an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
The recipie needs a lot of work to be able to produce a good pound cake. I reduced salt to 1/2 tsp. Also, cream the butter with the sugar first, then milk/eggs, then drys. I used 2 tsp lemon extract and could barely taste it - use more! I baked for 55 minutes (toothpick finally clean) and the cake turned out dry and crumbly. Definitely use a lemon glaze. I am going to try this recipie again and will revise my review later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States