One Egg Lemon Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This turned out pretty good! It was really simple to make...I did make one change. I added a vanilla pudding cup to it since I didnt have any vanilla extract and it made it really moist. I served it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, my family loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
i made mine so,dry and hard,i couldnt say its a cake either :( too bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilibeth:)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davao City, Davao, Philippines
Living In: Wajima-Shi, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I think cakes with more eggs actually taste better. But I also found a way to make this one more moist and taste more of lemon. Every 10 min I'd take the cake out, pour lemon juice on top and cover with thin layer of confectioners sugar. The top got a bit of coating and everything else got very moist. I also tried same cake with orange juice and it got even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This cake was okay when it first came out of the oven but it wasn't very flavorful and it became dry soon after. Maybe I did something wrong but I thought I followed the directions exactly. I've made much better cakes and I made a lemon cake the following week that was to die for so I'll stick to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
it over flowed and had a strange aftertase............... not that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I used fresh grated lemon zest instead of the extract - I prefer fresh. I brushed on a lemon juice and sugar syrup while the cake was still hot. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Great except for the salt. Adding salt ruined the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Easy To make, everyone liked it, I added lemon Zest and used lemon juice, also drizzeled lemon with sugar over top. Nice texture, made many times since finding the recipe. Florence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I really didn't care for this recipe. It lacked flavor and was on the dry side. I cooked this for 50 minutes as others had to do. I've made pound cake numerous times and this didn't measure up. I don't think I'll be playing with this recipe since I have a light version of pound cake that turns out well, but requires light sour cream. Sorry Kimberley, I wish I could be more positive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Oh, but what a wonderful cake it is. Very lemony, full of character, a little rum added after baking made it all better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States