One-Egg Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe!! I, too, used cornstarch, because I did not have tapioca flour on hand. This satisfied my craving. Thanks!! =-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
i didn't use the tapioca flour, used cornstarch instead, but it wuz still delicious. tasted just like the restaurant. i also used a drop or two of yellow food coloring to make it a little bit brighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terence Willson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Good flavor, but the tapioca starch made a texture that I personally don't care for. The family liked it, but like cornstarch version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennae Standing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was really good. I used homemade chicken bone broth and a local free range egg, I did use the tapioca flour (my son is allergic to cornstarch and the rest of us do not care to eat genetically modified foods) and I wouldn't change a thing. I liked it with the sesame oil on top, but it is good without as well. I did need to add a little salt because my broth didn't contain salt. But I wouldn't think you would need to add salt if you use storebought broth. Thanks for the great (and super healthy) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was great! The sesame oil really made it for me. Mmm. I used chicken stock instead of broth (it was what was on hand) and chives instead of green onion (also what was on hand). I also added an extra egg because I'm recovering from an operation and need extra protein. Excellent recipe! I'll definitely be eating the leftovers today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Perfect. Far better than the too thick artificial yellow soup you get out. I followed the directions as noted and made beautiful egg ribbons that were delicate and abundent. I used cornstarch instead of tapioca flour because that is what I had but I will make this again with tapioca flour to note what the difference is. I used the sesame oil and thought the amount called for was just right. Use quality chicken broth for a delicious and quick satisfying pot of wholesome healthy soup. Very nice recipe Fei Fei, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was pretty close to the restaurant ones except I used cornstarch and added a little soy sauce for taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Was salty, but may be because we used bullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This recipe as written is bland. Needs more ginger and some salt. When the extra seasoning is added it is very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was good and very easy. I didn't care much for the underlying flavor of the sesame oil, so will leave it out next time. Also, I used fresh eggs from our backyard hens, therefore I didn't exactly know if they were medium or large eggs. One egg just didn't look like it was going to be enough, so I used two. Two was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States