One-Egg Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was great! The sesame oil really made it for me. Mmm. I used chicken stock instead of broth (it was what was on hand) and chives instead of green onion (also what was on hand). I also added an extra egg because I'm recovering from an operation and need extra protein. Excellent recipe! I'll definitely be eating the leftovers today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Very good soup, I loved to ginger taste, better than restaurant I thought. I used the optional sesame oil in one bowl but didn't like it, just say'in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was pretty close to the restaurant ones except I used cornstarch and added a little soy sauce for taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Was salty, but may be because we used bullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I made the following changes: I omitted the oil and white pepper, changed the tapioca flour to potato starch and added about 1 1/2 TBSP of Better Than Broth Chicken Soup Base. It's yummier and heartier than bouillon and it chased away that "texture" I saw other reviewers commenting on. After adding that, it was PERFECT. I recommend adding it by the teaspoon to taste. Otherwise chicken bouillon would do the trick as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
i didn't use the tapioca flour, used cornstarch instead, but it wuz still delicious. tasted just like the restaurant. i also used a drop or two of yellow food coloring to make it a little bit brighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terence Willson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Did not have green onions on hand, grated some white onion, that's fine. Also used the corn starch, that's fine. Frankly I love this recipe. It has become one of my favorites as I always have all the ingredients on hand. (Using the above substitutes)It is quick and easy, and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe!! I, too, used cornstarch, because I did not have tapioca flour on hand. This satisfied my craving. Thanks!! =-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Good flavor, but the tapioca starch made a texture that I personally don't care for. The family liked it, but like cornstarch version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennae Standing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States