One-Dish Chicken, Vegetable and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
OMG my mother and I have been making so many variations of this recipe for longer than I can remember! Various rice mixes, or white rice and chicken broth instead of water with whatever spices sound good at the moment - it doesn't matter because this is a very forgiving recipe. A bag of whatever frozen veggie mix is in the freezer, whatever cheese you've got in the fridge... and cream of whatever's in the cupboard soup! Cream of chicken or celery work just as good. Or try cheddar cheese or broccoli cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for. Some thing healthy quick and easy (plus washing a ton of dishes is not my favorite thing so it's a big plus for me that it's all in one dish). I made a few modifications with the food and time I had on hand, but thank you so much for providing this recipe! For some reason I couldn't find another chicken casserole recipe that used raw chicken, uncooked rice and veggies... so I was excited when I saw this one. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
SOOO good. Here where my alteration: broth instead of water, a splash of worsteshire sause and I used chicken breat tenderloin strips. I just cut them into bite size peices. So easy, so yummy and healthy!!! A keeper- definately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cajun Girl
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
What I changed -seasoned and cooked the chicken, cooked the brown rice and steamed the mixed veggies. Sautéed fresh mushrooms in olive oil. In a bowl, combined 1 can 99% fat free cream of chicken soup in addition to the 99% fat free cream of mushroom soup (eliminated the can of water). Cut chicken into bit size pieces and added to soup and mushroom mixture. Sprinkled with garlic salt, dried basil and Cajun spices, then topped with Mozzarella cheese. Something about the basil with chicken – just gives it a fantastic flavor. Can refrigerate – freeze or pop in the oven until bubbly. Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought this was very good. I didn't have any long-grain/wild rice mix on hand, but I did have a box of Rice-a-Roni (broccoli au gratin flavor). It was a perfect compliment to the frozen veggies and cheddar cheese. I also added a splash or two of soy sauce for a little extra kick. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a good one dish dinner for a family. It's not something showstopping for a party, but it got the job done. I used fresh broccoli, cauliflower, celery and carrots as I had them leftover from a party. They cooked up well, I also browned one side of the chicken breast just to give it that 'done' look. I just dont like the look of stark white chicken. I'll be adding this to my keepers file for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Carter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I subbed 3/4 cup regular long-grain rice and added a little seasoning salt and garlic powder because that's all I had. I also just used frozen brocolli since that's what we like. Next time, I'll use milk instead of water and add a little sour cream if I have it. ***The second time I used brown rice, chicken broth instead of water, cream of chicken with herbs soup, and a little sour cream. Very flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I thought this was really good, and of course, so easy. I used fresh vegies becuase that's what I had on hand, other than that, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was really good! I cubed the chicken before putting it on top. I also used brown uncooked rice instead of packaged rice. I simply stirred in Italian seasoning and salt with the rice. Since I used brown rice I cooked the rice a little bit longer than the recipe called for. It seemed soupy when I first took it out but left it sitting for a while and it thickened. Yum! There was plenty of flavor. This is a fast, easy, and fairly healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Though I’m not normally a huge fan of dishes prepared primarily with processed ingredients, and this didn't suit my tastes, I needed something super-quick to feed hungry people tonight, and this fit the bill; everyone else loved it. I used chopped leftover broccoli, and doubled the cheese. I had to bake mine for an additional 20 minutes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States