One-Dish Chicken, Vegetable and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I liked the concept of this meal, but the chicken sounded very bland as the recipe was written, so I made some modifications. I rolled the chicken in a mixture of flour, salt and pepper, then dipped it in egg and covered it in Italian bread crumbs. I drizzled it with a couple tablespoons of butter before baking, so the chicken would brown nicely. I also uncovered the dish for the last 5 minutes of baking and added the last 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to melt. This made the chicken delicious and flavorful and it worked well with the rice and vegetable mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Dinner was OK...chicken was dry. So the next time I'll place the chicken on the bottom and the rice/veg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Great chicken recipe.Modified it alittle to fit our taste.We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaGail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cajun Girl
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
What I changed -seasoned and cooked the chicken, cooked the brown rice and steamed the mixed veggies. Sautéed fresh mushrooms in olive oil. In a bowl, combined 1 can 99% fat free cream of chicken soup in addition to the 99% fat free cream of mushroom soup (eliminated the can of water). Cut chicken into bit size pieces and added to soup and mushroom mixture. Sprinkled with garlic salt, dried basil and Cajun spices, then topped with Mozzarella cheese. Something about the basil with chicken – just gives it a fantastic flavor. Can refrigerate – freeze or pop in the oven until bubbly. Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I thought this was very good. I didn't have any long-grain/wild rice mix on hand, but I did have a box of Rice-a-Roni (broccoli au gratin flavor). It was a perfect compliment to the frozen veggies and cheddar cheese. I also added a splash or two of soy sauce for a little extra kick. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Easy, tasty (with added seasoning to your taste) to read a large family. I did find that I had to cook it longer. Not a gourmet dish but a good family basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I thought this was really good, and of course, so easy. I used fresh vegies becuase that's what I had on hand, other than that, didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Yummy. Not exactly a gourmet recipe, but a good, warm casserole for a cold winter night. Easy to assemble. I use the only bag of mixed veggies I had: corn, beans, and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Perfect recipe! Complete meal and for the first time I didn't need to add anything else. It tasted perfect and the chicken breast were juicy and moist. I did use a thermometer too make sure my chicken was not overcooked (I absolutely hate dry meat). I'll be making this many more times over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
SOOO good. Here where my alteration: broth instead of water, a splash of worsteshire sause and I used chicken breat tenderloin strips. I just cut them into bite size peices. So easy, so yummy and healthy!!! A keeper- definately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States