One-Dish Chicken, Vegetable and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Yum! I only needed enough for my husband and I, but I still used a whole can of soup, chicken broth instead of water (about 1/2 a soup can worth), and a 1/2 cup of white rice instead of a long grain mix (since that had a lot more calories). I used half a bag of broccoli and cauliflower and an 8oz can of water chestnuts. So tasty! For the chicken, I chopped up about 5 chicken tenders and mixed them in with everything, and added some garlic powder, salt and pepper, and a few dashes of cayenne for a small boost. I made tweaks, but no major changes, and that's a pretty good recipe to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
We all liked this, including our 3 year old. I used fresh asparagus instead of frozen veggies, and it was really good. I would suggest letting it set up for about 5 minutes after removing from the oven and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was delicious. I did use fresh veggies, like broccoli, carrots, and celery. I seasoned the chicken with poultry seasoning and the paprika. Because, I used fresh veggies - I used two cans of cream of chicken soup. Also substituted the water for chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was surprisingly good for how little preparation was needed! I was happy to throw raw and frozen items into a 9x13 and just have an hour to do other things. I used frozen chopped onion, frozen peas, and frozen green beans. I did follow another reviewers suggestion of seasoning the chicken with more than paprika and adding a splash of worcestershire sauce. I used tenders vs whole breasts and cut them into large chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was really good, I was so happy and surprised b/c a lot of times a casserole recipe online lacks seasoning. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and substituted chicken broth for water and added a little worcestshire. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
OMG my mother and I have been making so many variations of this recipe for longer than I can remember! Various rice mixes, or white rice and chicken broth instead of water with whatever spices sound good at the moment - it doesn't matter because this is a very forgiving recipe. A bag of whatever frozen veggie mix is in the freezer, whatever cheese you've got in the fridge... and cream of whatever's in the cupboard soup! Cream of chicken or celery work just as good. Or try cheddar cheese or broccoli cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
It kinda kills me to admit how good this was. So incredibly simple and open to a lot of variations--I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup and some frozen broccoli, carrots, and peppers with a light seasoning. I also used chicken broth instead of water as other reviewers suggested, although it might be even better with veggie broth. Little-to-no prep work and TONS of flavor are always welcome in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
We really thought this was great. It is very flavorful to be so easy. I cut my chicken into pieces, and mixed it in, which I would not suggest doing. My chicken did not get done before it had gotten too thick, but even being overcooked, it was still delicious. I want my chicken to be in chunks, so next time I will cook it just a little first before putting in the dish. I also added the cheese and a can of fried onions to the top and broiled til browned. This with the chestnuts gave it a nice crunch. Will definitely make again. Great recipe, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasibee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Tasty. The Ghanaians liked it - said it was similar to Jollof. I thought it was great and very easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
yummy. i did have to make some changes due to lack of ingredients - used Knorrs Side Rice Mushroom flavor, 1/2 cup cheddar in the mixture and 1/2 cup swiss cheese on top, did not have paprika so sprinkled some Tony Chachere's creole seasoning on the chicken tenderloins i cut into big chunky pieces, added onions, left out carrots, and then to make it a company dish, I topped each serving with sliced avacado and toasted almonds. My husband said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States