One Dish Chicken and Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I followed this recipe as written and it came out pretty poor. The rice and the chicken both turned out to be overcooked and the rice lacked taste in general. If I make this recipe again, I would add chicken broth to the water to cook the rice in and maybe add some veggies to the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
We liked this recipe. These are the ingredients I had, so it's what I needed to work with. I used this as a base recipe and then added garlic salt, onion salt and instead of water I used chicken broth. It was ugly (kind of brown) but tasted good. Every one of my kids ate it and even my picky son loved it. I was kind of scared when I plueed out the chick. It looked mushy, but I stirred it up and it was really nice fluffy rice. I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours instead of 45 minutes. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly (using 1 1/3 cups of water for creamier rice) and was very disappointed in the results. Instead of "creamy" I had a watery mess. Although the chicken was done, I felt it really needed to cook longer. Next time I will use 1cup of rice instead of 3/4's as this was not enough rice for the amount of chicken. Also needs more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I like to cook but rarely have the time. I tried this recipe & was instantly in love. Following another poster's suggestion, I used chicken broth instead of water. I also used what I had on hand: chicken wings. Served on a bed of spinach, this was WONDERFUL! I have since also tried this recipe with chicken/feta/spinach sausage. A little too wet but otherwise still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
this recipe is much better if you use milk instead of water. Also, I like to a a couple splashes of worcetishire suace, or even a gook flavor hot sauce for a little extra kick. Add more salk and pepper to taste, and my family will eat every last peice of rice in the baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I am sure this is a pretty good recipe but it never comes out right for me. I seem to have to bake it for a long time before the rice is done. I am sure it is something I am doing...or not doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Depending on my freezer, I'll occasionally add frozen vegetables to the dish along with splashes of hot sauce and Adobo powder to make this a quick, simple dinner that requires virtually no attention once it's in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I thought it was pretty good for a weeknight meal. I used the chicken broth instead of water as suggested, and thought the flavor was good. I will definitely add more rice next time. Also, I baked for 40 minutes and the chicken was slightly over-done (probably b/c I used smallish chicken breasts), so you will want to adjust the baking time according to size of chicken breasts you use. Served with a spinach salad, but I think you could add veggies to this and make it a one-dish meal very easily. It's a good basic recipe that you can throw other pantry items you have on hand to jazz it up, if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
It tasted okay. But it was really watery when I made it. But that might have been my mistake because I used brown rice because that is what I had on hand. I also used milk instead of water. But all in all, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
i liked this recipe,except i had to make for ten people but if you use water and a little milk the rice comes out creamy. thanks cindy...m.c.,oregon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States