One Bowl Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lonnarific
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I couldn't ask for any better! I used a 9x13 pan and baked it for 40 minutes. I just made this for the 2nd time and this time I upped the cocoa to 1 cup... I'm REALLY glad I did! The cake is great with the amount called for, but after trying more to see the difference, I definitely think 1 cup is the magic amount. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. I used the "Buttercream Icing" recipe (pictured) from Sharon on this website. Incredible together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
954 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
My original review was 4 stars because I tried the cake only a few hours after baking. The cake alone was OK but had a strong baking soda taste. I used a can of dunkin hines vanilla frosting and with this the cake was good. However, after mellowing in the fridge for a day or two this cake was insanely good! As good as any store bought or boxed mix. Bottom line: Make the cake a day in advance and let it mellow in the fridge overnight. I see no need to buy another boxed mix again. Thanks for a great recipe. Oh, and yes, after the water step it will be very soupy but it will turn out perfect :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
693 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This cake will be printed out as my new basic chocolate cake. Everything about it was nice, I did add a teaspoon of instant coffee to the boiling water and the batter was thin. Baked up perfect - I did line the tin and use oil spray. Tastes better than some expensive box mixes. Wasn't overly moist either, just not dry at all. Thanks. UPDATE: Up the amount of cocoa to 1 cup and make sure it's the best quality. I use a European brand. You can use melted butter if you run out of oil. You can use whipped cream, cocoa powder and icing sugar for a great icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
With just slight variations, this recipe is much like "Black Magic Cake," which I found I prefer. It is not quite as dense or as fudgy as this one. This is a deep, dark chocolate cake, but it was almost TOO moist,TOO dense. Don't know what really accounts for the difference since the recipes are so similar, and maybe it's just a matter of personal preference, but while this was a very good cake, I'll stick with the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I have joyfully been trying many different cake/frosting recipes from this site and I must say this is about the most moist and delicious I have found! I used this to make cupcakes and what a perfect batter for the task! It's so "runny" you just pour it into the liners. Halve the recipe and you get 12 cupcakes. Fill the liners 3/4 way full. They come out fluffy and very moist- PERFECT! I used the "Rich Chocolate Frosting" from this site and it too was superb. (I wrote a review on it as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
One of the best cake recipes your ever going to find. Been cooking cakes for over ten years this recipe is easy, moist,texture and elasticity is perfect for chocolate cake. The type of cocoa is crucial. I've cooked it twice, first time used a dark cocoa it was good but the dark chocolate enhanced the salt so it tasted a tad salty. So next time if using a dark cocoa will omit the salt. Second time, used good quality standard cocoa and came out great. Also used a diluted espresso instead of plain water. Also glad the writer noted the runniness of the mix abit worrying at first. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This is the exact recipe that is on the back of the Hershey Cocoa can. I have been using this same recipe for years! So much better than a box mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA JEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Absolutely delicious and so EASY to make! We made this for a birthday party just last weekend and made another one last night for ourselves. Perfect with some whipped topping, we added a 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips to make it even more chocolatey! If you do this, make sure to sprinkle it on top of the batter AFTER you have poured it into the baking pan, let them just sit on the top. Since the batter is thin, mixing them in will cause them to sink to the bottom and stick to the pan as you try to get the cake out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This recipe is awesome but remember it will only come out as great as the ingredients you use. I used Hershey's cocoa powder because that's what I had on hand but I would recommend using the highest quality cocoa you can afford! The batter IS really thin, I am SO glad that the recipe included that warning because I woulld have thought I did something wrong. Don't worry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
this recipe is very good. but i used the batter to make cupcakes and they were delicious! i was surprised at how moist they were. everybody loved them. i suggest that when you put in the cocoa powder, it's good to sift it then there are no lumps and the batter is smooth. also i did not put the full cup of water, i think it made the batter too thin. the next time i'm going to try it in the cake form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shmoopy23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,693) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States