One Bowl Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Replace the water with brewed coffee. Brings out the chocolate flavor better. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FCM1611

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I replaced the oil with cubes of unsweetened bakers chocolate, used only 1.5 cups of sugar and replaced some of the flour with more powdered chocolate. I iced with cream cheese frosting. The cake was very dry the night I made it, but is delicious this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Perfect chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this up yesterday to serve at a birthday party today and it was absolutely wonderful. Yes, the batter will get very runny once you add the boiling water to it but that is how it is supposed to be. It turned out very nice and everyone raved about it. It's my new favorite chocolate cake recipe and was delicious with butter cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This cake was awesome! Like the other reviews said I was worried about how thin the batter was as it was the perfect texture before adding the water. I did it anyway (wondering if I shouldn't have)and it turned out with a perfect moist texture! I baked it in a 9x13 pan and had to add another 10 min. or so to the baking time as a result. The reviews said it was better the 2nd and 3rd day but it was great the 1st day too! I didn't frost or glaze it, I served it with homemade vanilla ice cream and our company LOVED it and immediately asked for the recipe. Thank you I will definately make it my "go to" chocolate cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indian Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I was concerned by how watery the batter was but the end result was a very moist, rich chocolate cake that everyone in my family loves. My husband doesn't even want frosting on it... it is a winner in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. This cake smelled awesome while it was cooking. It turned out perfectly and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Gonna use this all the time...Came out moist and soft and fluffy. made a 13x9 cake though not a layer. Took about 45 minutes to bake at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This cake is VERY good! It's moist and soft, and works with a lot of frostings. I will definitely be making this again. (I have made it twice already)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
easy and super moist. I didnt have cocoa powder so I made this with 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate, and reduced the oil to 1/4 cup - came out great and was a hit with the family. I did 2 layers, filled with chocolate mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States