One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Good & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was great, but DON'T add all the milk at one time. You won't need but half the amount (at least I didn't). I left off the cocoa, as I wanted a vanilla frosting. Perfect flavor & texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This frosting spread really well and tasted great. I did add a little extra cocoa though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I only added two cups confectioners sugar, and increased the cocoa by 1/4 cup. It was getting too sweet for my taste. Beat for a long time to break down the graininess of the con. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I just made this for my husband's birthday cake and it is scrumptious! I omitted the cocoa as he likes just plain buttercream frosting added just a splash more vanilla extract than it calls for. It so smooth and rich!!! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very easy to make and very tasty!! Wanted vanilla so I didnt add the cocoa but will next time. I used mine to ice sugar cookies. When I added the food coloring it made the icing thinner, exactly how I wanted for the cookies. After icing them I let the cookies sit out and just kept checking on them to see if the icing would dry enough for me to be able to stack the cookies. They dried perfectly, (couple of hours later so be sure to plan accordingly, I wasnt in any rush) I put them in a container and took them to the party. They were such a big hit I wished I had made more!! Thank you so much for this recipe, it is one I will be using again and again!! P.S. I also love that you dont have to use shortening like other recipes. I didnt have any shortening, didnt want to go to the store and is healthier withoout it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Running2PortCharles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I used coconut milk. I didn't have the vanilla. It was awesome. I ended up eating it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great frosting and easily adaptable. Mix the cocoa and powdered sugar before adding to the butter to ensure even distribution. Not my favorite, but much tastier than canned frosting, easy and cheap too. I will probably use the "special recipe dark" cocoa next time for more chocolate flavor and a richer color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The yield is way off. I just barely was able to frost 12 cupcakes and that was with added sugar. Second, as written this comes out runny - not fit to hold up as 'frosting'. I had to add sugar and even then it was not sturdy enough. Really too bad because it was yummy before I added the additional sugar to thicken it up. Once I added sugar it was too sweet. If you really want to give it a try - don't add 1/3 cup of milk! I'd start slow and gradually add...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This frosting recipe is great in its own right, but I made a few changes based on another reviewer's suggestions. I omitted the cocoa and instead of using half-and-half, which I did not have on hand, I used 1/3 cup of all natural vanilla-flavored coffee creamer (Coffee Mate's Natural Bliss) and omitted the vanilla extract. I then added 1/8 t. of salt to off-set the sweetness a little. Wow! To my surprise, it turned out really creamy and tasty! The creamer turned out to be a great substitute when out of half-and-half or heavy cream. Great, easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States