One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this is definitely my go-to frosting. It's super easy (I've been making it since i was 12), but it still tastes excellent. You won't need the full 1/3 cup of milk, and i find it helps to mix in the vanilla extract before you put in the milk. That way, you don't forget it and you can accurately tell how thick the frosting will be as you add the milk a little at a time. I certainly recomend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Used this to top chocolate cupcakes. I didn't use as much milk so that it a good for piping. It maintained its shape and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Delicious!!!! I folllowed the recipe exactly and it produced a wonderful creamy frosting! I used it on a chocolate cake and it really added punch to it. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good and very easy to make. If I had used all the confectioner's sugar it would have been too sweet (at least for my taste). I mixed 2 cups of c. sugar with the cocoa and added probably about 1.5 cups (maybe a bit more) to the butter and because I was working with less sugar I used less milk. It was very easy to spread, looked great on the cake and tasted wonderful! Looking forward to trying the vanilla version as others noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I found out I didn't have any baker's chocolate after making my cake and needed a recipe using cocoa powder. I saw this recipe and had all the ingredients so I decided to give it a try. I didn't expect much from such a simple recipe but I was really surprised, this is extraordinarily good! Creamy and smooth! It's my go-to frosting now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
LOVE this fluffy frosting! It's not as heavy as some buttercream can be and beats the pants off the store bought stuff! I added some cocoa powder to make a chocolate version and it was a hit! This one is going in my permanent file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe really dissapointed me. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out a mess. I refrigerated the icing because it was very liquidy and I needed to use it later and the second I put it on my cake it was ruined, plus it didn't even taste good. As well the consistency was thicky liquidy and granular which doesnt make sense because I used icing sugar not regular sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
it's a great frosting, i needed one that did not have the unsweetened baking chocolate squares, which this one doesn't have...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I triple checked the recipe to make sure I didn't misread anything, and I definitely followed it exactly. Unfortunately, I didn't think the frosting was very sweet and it was nothing like any buttercream I have ever had. I eventually added another cup of confectioner's sugar and a tablespoon of peanutbutter to try to make it usable for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Just made the frosting today, following the recipe exactly. I used it to frost cupcakes and a small cake. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States