One Bowl Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great frosting and easily adaptable. Mix the cocoa and powdered sugar before adding to the butter to ensure even distribution. Not my favorite, but much tastier than canned frosting, easy and cheap too. I will probably use the "special recipe dark" cocoa next time for more chocolate flavor and a richer color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The yield is way off. I just barely was able to frost 12 cupcakes and that was with added sugar. Second, as written this comes out runny - not fit to hold up as 'frosting'. I had to add sugar and even then it was not sturdy enough. Really too bad because it was yummy before I added the additional sugar to thicken it up. Once I added sugar it was too sweet. If you really want to give it a try - don't add 1/3 cup of milk! I'd start slow and gradually add...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This frosting recipe is great in its own right, but I made a few changes based on another reviewer's suggestions. I omitted the cocoa and instead of using half-and-half, which I did not have on hand, I used 1/3 cup of all natural vanilla-flavored coffee creamer (Coffee Mate's Natural Bliss) and omitted the vanilla extract. I then added 1/8 t. of salt to off-set the sweetness a little. Wow! To my surprise, it turned out really creamy and tasty! The creamer turned out to be a great substitute when out of half-and-half or heavy cream. Great, easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
very sweet and runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Awesome! I used dry milk instead of cocoa to make vanilla frosting (as suggested by reviews) and it worked great! Never thought buttercream frosting could be easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
LOVELY. This is absolutely scrumptious. It's rich, creamy, smooth, so chocolatey and the texture is just amazing. Thanks so much for this easy, easy recipe. I don't make scratch cakes often and I haven't had much luck with frosting recipes and I refuse to use store-bought frosting because I think it's disgusting. I made David's Yellow Cake from this site (excellent!), used this frosting and had not even a crumb left over to take home. Beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I wanted vanilla frosting (so did not use the cocoa) but this ended up too sweet, so I added 4 oz of cream cheese and it was fantastic. Super easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
WOW! Super easy but great favour and creaminess. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
LOVED this frosting!!! I of course had to make a few changes. I wanted vanilla so I could color it for a bday cake, so I omitted the cocoa powder. And made these changes: 6 1/2 TBSP butter(just for a bit more flavor), 1/3 c heavy whipping cream and added 1 tsp of almond extract. Totally awesome with the changes :) Will def make again!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Iron, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States