One Bowl Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Excellent! My family enjoyed these brownies. I also used 12 tbls cocoa powder and 3 tbls vegetable oil instead of the 4 unsweetened chocolate squares. Search is over - this is the recipe I'll keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
761 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I found this recipe in a brochure from a grocery store a few years ago. These brownies are very easy to make! Just the thing if you are looking for a fudgy brownie as opposed to a cake-y one. A word of caution: they will stick to the pan! The original recipe calls for covering the pan with foil, leaving enough at edges to form handles. Grease the foil generously. It works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I found this on the box of my Baker's Unsweetened Chocolate and gave it a try. My family & I agree that they are delicious. As another reviewer mentioned the instructions do say to foil & grease the 9 X 13 pan, which I did & used pam with flour, and I had no problems with sticking. I followed the variation on the box for a more cakey brownie which was to add 1/2 cup more of flour and 1/2 cup of milk. Perfect. Will definitely make these again :) Edit: I made these again and cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, while upping the vanilla to 2 tsp and they were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I didn't have any squares, so I used the 12 to 3 ratio for cocoa powder/oil. I was also out of nuts, so I omitted them also. I didn't have any trouble spreading the batter or getthing them out of my glass pan sprayed with PAM. They were VERY chocolately. I didn't bake them for 35 minutes either - more like 27 or 28, but that could have been my pan. I just watched closely for slight pulling around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Seriously folks, if you want the definitive, last word on the subject, BEST brownie make this recipe! (Or the other, identical, "One Bowl Brownie" recipe from this site...) I know there are differences from one person to the next on what makes brownies "the best," but in my judgment no one could possibly disagree this is it unless they somehow goofed up the recipe. Easy to mix up, rich, buttery, fudgy, chewy on the edges and just the right amount of "chocolatiness" and sweetness (some brownies are so sweet they make my teeth hurt!). As long you don't overmix or overbake these, you'll have the perfect brownie - like the kind that beckon you from bakery shelves with their beauty only these taste a whole lot better! So make these - and top them off with "Fudge Frosting," also from this site. (I made half the recipe, baked in a foil lined pan, 22 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I live in Russia and am always looking for simple recipes with ingredients I don’t have to carry in my suitcase from home – this one is awesome! Several people suggested following the instructions exactly – the first time I tried substituting cocoa powder and butter for unsweetened chocolate squares (they don't have those in Russia), I also wasn’t paying attention and put the eggs in before the sugar, maybe the problem was the butter was too hot and semi-cooked the eggs? I don’t know, but the batter was chunky and not nice at all. I cooked them, and they tasted good, but the texture was gummy and I needed a chisel to get them out of the pan. The second time I followed the recipe precisely, and they were perfect. My whole house smelled chocolatey and when I taste tested one, I ended up tasting (uh) three. Nice and crusty on top, soft, but cooked in the middle, my second batch didn’t stick to the pan at all – I was going to try out several recipes, but I will go no further. This is my brownie recipe – I’m sure my Russian friends will love them! (Guess I’ll be packing unsweetened chocolate squares in my suitcase!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
These were yummy and came out perfect! I did change a couple of things (always do) - used 3/4 cup cocoa and 1/4 canola oil whisked until smooth (no baking chocolate) and added 1/2 tsp almond extract but otherwise followed the directions. We will definitely be making these again. They are insanely sticky, though; I will definitely try the foil trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Oh my goodness! These are amazing brownies. I have made them three times and they are delicious every time. I used old old old Hershey's baking chocolate the first time--only half of what was ordered (because I am an idiot and cannot always read very well). I realized the problem and made an icing (cocoa-based) and they got raves by everyone at the school party. The next time I made them with Girardelli (sp?) baking chocolate and they turned out amazing again--very rich and chocolatey. The next time I used the same chocolate and added a little Kahlua-maybe 3 Tbsp and put a glaze on again. Once again, everyone loved them. These are so so easy and the one-bowl to wash up? How can you beat that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
These were the best brownies I've ever had. My boyfriend prefers cake-like brownies, but still loved these even though they were fudge-like. We made a few changes. First, we didn't have any vanilla so we substituted real maple syrup to add flavor. We also added only 1/2 the walnuts and added semi-sweet chocolate chips in place of the other 1/2. Pinch of salt is a good idea too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Dear Lord! I don't like brownies much, or even chocolate for that matter, and my hubby and I agree: I can never make this recipe again. Why, you ask? Because it is sooooo good that we ate half of them while they were still warm - that's why! What a simple and amazing recipe! The only things I did differently was use 200g of dark chocolate (because it was what I had on hand and I didn't want to waste any), I added a pinch of baking powder, cut the sugar by 50g and split it - 200g white and substituted the remaining 150g for brown sugar. Bellissimo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States