One Bowl Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This recipe was a good start. When I made it the first time, my husband liked them, but I didn't think they were sweet enough and they were hard. When I made them the second time, I used semi-sweet chocolate. Both times I melted in a saucepan but the second time I added sugar in the raw to the pan so it would melt a bit because it tends to be grainy. Also to the flour I added baking soda, powder and salt. A strange thing happened, the mix bubbled and overflowed when baked, but the brownies turned out moist and delicious!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious Brownie! I used this for the base of my peanut butter pie very Good nice an fudgy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Scrumptious! I wanted to make something quick for my neighbor's birthday but I didn't have a lot of ingredients on hand. I knew she loved chocolate and I did have a package of unsweetened chocolate squares. I did a quick search on allrecipes.com (always my favorite go-to recipe site) and found this simple recipe. With the help of my 8 year old son we quickly whipped them up & with the suggestion of another reviewer made the "fudge frosting" to go with them. To die for! I used non-stick foil in the pan and didn't have any problems with sticking. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mlsteffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I think ive followed the recipe n directions accordingly. However it didnt turn out rite. Top part cooked, whereas bottom part uncooked/gooish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very bland brownie. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
These were quick, easy, and delicious-what more can you ask for. Much better than the box mix and just as easy to throw together. I used a bar of Ghiradelli unsweetened baking chocolate and pecans in place of the walnuts-I don't think I'll ever buy a box again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Although I baked for only 30 minutes, 5 minutes less than specified (because I like my brownies slightly underdone so they maintain chewiness) these still came out dry, dry, dry. I guess I'd say they're closest in texture to a cake - an extremely overbaked cake. My oven is dead-on calibrated, (and it's turned out some incredible creations in the last couple of weeks) so that wasn't the problem. The flavor was lame on the chocolate, too. I've used the recipe from the Betty Crocker Cook Book (copyright 1970) for many years, and although it uses only shortening and not a speck of butter, the result is full of chocolatey flavor and consistently chewy and moist. I thought I'd try a new recipe, one that had stellar reviews this time. I would have thought with the butter in this one they'd be more flavorful, but boy, was I wrong! I believe the source of the problem is that in my usual recipe, which uses the same fat-to-flour ratio, it calls for FOUR eggs, not three. I cut the "brownies" up to use in a chocolate trifle, to salvage all those expensive ingredients, so that it wouldn't be a total loss. Not trying to be unkind, but I found them to be incredibly disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great brownie! I followed the recipe except left out the nuts. Easy to make, easy to clean up and easy to eat! I frosted with Brownie Frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
so delicious and fudgy, and so easy you can't go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Color me disappointed. It's not the first time I have made brownies from scratch. Followed directions exactly. Used the last of my holiday nuts. Used 125 gr. baking chocolate (4 ozx29=116gr). End result: light on chocolate, heavy on grease. Overbaked exactly one minute. Hard on the edges, which I expected, gooey and unbaked interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 742) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States