One - Two - Three - Mexican Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe was a big hit at my neighborhood potluck! I did have one problem though- I had only 1/2 cup of mayo, so I used 1/2 Kraft Miracle Whip with the mayo. It created a great sweet contrast with the hot salsa! Also, using Rainbow Rotini was very festive and appealing to the eye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was so good - I put the corn and black beans in it also - AND I put cilantro. I got lots and lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I was worried about this one before I tried it -- it seemed pretty odd. I followed exact recipe directions, including the black olives, which really added a lot to the flavour, and hot salsa (Herr's brand). If I had to do it again, I would do it with medium salsa, since it was a bit hot for me. I tested it out on college-age friends and they seemed to really like it. The recipe is not as creamy as I am accustomed to in a pasta salad, but one could always add more mayonaise if that is desired. I think choosing a good brand of salsa is key to this recipe -- many of the salsas on the shelf looked machine-made. This came out as mostly pasta with a little bit of the veggies here and there -- those who prefer a more varied mix may want to add red and yellow pepper and perhaps even some cucumber. Good constitution though, nice proportions, and has a very 'surprising' effect on those who eat it. Nobody expects a pasta salad with zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Excellent macaroni salad! This is so easy and it tastes like it was sooo hard to make. I will make this over and over again. I took advise of others and added the corn and black beans which was a great balance of mexican flavors. Highly recommend this for potluck socials...it'll be a hit! The black olives are a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This had to be one of the easiest salads I ever made. And it tasted good too. I used medium shells instead of macaroni because I had it in my closet. Also, used Fat Free Mayo (and I always like to cut the calories). But I like a lot of flavor, so I also added about a half cup of chopped onion and a half cup of frozen corn. Also, put in about a Tbsp of chili powder for more Mexican flavor. Then right before serving, I sprinkled chopped cilantro on top. Yummy!! I will definitely make this again. And maybe use black beans as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
All though it didn't look appealing, this was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I liked this recipe it was a nice change. I used a medium chunky salsa and added chopped green onions and finely chopped celery for a little added crunch. Everyone enjoyed it. Next time I think I will add some corn. This recipe is easily adaptable to whatever might suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I just made this recipe and we really enjoyed it. I am a vegetarian and this was a filling salad everyone could enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
5 stars with some modifications. I skipped the olives, but added a can of black beans, a can of corn, and a lot of cumin and cilantro (dried, but fresh would be even better!). A very good change from traditional mac salad, plus, a lot healthier. Will make again - thanks for the great idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Loved this salad as did the rest of my family. I didnt have any green pepper so I threw in some frozen peas and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States