One - Two - Three - Mexican Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I was worried about this one before I tried it -- it seemed pretty odd. I followed exact recipe directions, including the black olives, which really added a lot to the flavour, and hot salsa (Herr's brand). If I had to do it again, I would do it with medium salsa, since it was a bit hot for me. I tested it out on college-age friends and they seemed to really like it. The recipe is not as creamy as I am accustomed to in a pasta salad, but one could always add more mayonaise if that is desired. I think choosing a good brand of salsa is key to this recipe -- many of the salsas on the shelf looked machine-made. This came out as mostly pasta with a little bit of the veggies here and there -- those who prefer a more varied mix may want to add red and yellow pepper and perhaps even some cucumber. Good constitution though, nice proportions, and has a very 'surprising' effect on those who eat it. Nobody expects a pasta salad with zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
All though it didn't look appealing, this was a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
the mac, mayo, green pepper and garlic powder, salt and pepper wasn't too bad by itself -- you could add marinated chicken or tuna to it and have a nice lunch. Throw in some fresh peppers for a little punch. Overall, this was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I give it 5 stars for preparation- very easy to make, but just so-so on taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I liked this recipe it was a nice change. I used a medium chunky salsa and added chopped green onions and finely chopped celery for a little added crunch. Everyone enjoyed it. Next time I think I will add some corn. This recipe is easily adaptable to whatever might suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I just made this recipe and we really enjoyed it. I am a vegetarian and this was a filling salad everyone could enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe was a big hit at my neighborhood potluck! I did have one problem though- I had only 1/2 cup of mayo, so I used 1/2 Kraft Miracle Whip with the mayo. It created a great sweet contrast with the hot salsa! Also, using Rainbow Rotini was very festive and appealing to the eye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
5 stars with some modifications. I skipped the olives, but added a can of black beans, a can of corn, and a lot of cumin and cilantro (dried, but fresh would be even better!). A very good change from traditional mac salad, plus, a lot healthier. Will make again - thanks for the great idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This had to be one of the easiest salads I ever made. And it tasted good too. I used medium shells instead of macaroni because I had it in my closet. Also, used Fat Free Mayo (and I always like to cut the calories). But I like a lot of flavor, so I also added about a half cup of chopped onion and a half cup of frozen corn. Also, put in about a Tbsp of chili powder for more Mexican flavor. Then right before serving, I sprinkled chopped cilantro on top. Yummy!! I will definitely make this again. And maybe use black beans as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Good recipe, but way too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States