One - Two - Three - Mexican Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This had to be one of the easiest salads I ever made. And it tasted good too. I used medium shells instead of macaroni because I had it in my closet. Also, used Fat Free Mayo (and I always like to cut the calories). But I like a lot of flavor, so I also added about a half cup of chopped onion and a half cup of frozen corn. Also, put in about a Tbsp of chili powder for more Mexican flavor. Then right before serving, I sprinkled chopped cilantro on top. Yummy!! I will definitely make this again. And maybe use black beans as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I was worried about this one before I tried it -- it seemed pretty odd. I followed exact recipe directions, including the black olives, which really added a lot to the flavour, and hot salsa (Herr's brand). If I had to do it again, I would do it with medium salsa, since it was a bit hot for me. I tested it out on college-age friends and they seemed to really like it. The recipe is not as creamy as I am accustomed to in a pasta salad, but one could always add more mayonaise if that is desired. I think choosing a good brand of salsa is key to this recipe -- many of the salsas on the shelf looked machine-made. This came out as mostly pasta with a little bit of the veggies here and there -- those who prefer a more varied mix may want to add red and yellow pepper and perhaps even some cucumber. Good constitution though, nice proportions, and has a very 'surprising' effect on those who eat it. Nobody expects a pasta salad with zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I made this for a party of about 40 people. I doubled the recipe and added a few extras, i.e. the black beans, corn, chopped celery, etc. This was way more than enough for our group. I don't think I'll double it the next time, but a least I had some great leftovers to take home and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Greetings all! :-) Thank you for trying my recipe and for your reviews. I love to read how others have taken one of my recipe and added to it, to make the recipe their own. The addition of corn, black beans, green onion, etc... all great ideas. Most recipes are adaptable to variation so never be afraid to experiment, that's what makes cooking fun. And when someone says "I love this, can I have "YOUR" recipe?"... now that's a great feeling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This salad needs to chill for at least a few hours before serving. It isn't very good otherwise. The dressing is a very odd shade of pink and I was nervous to even taste it. I didn't like it when it was first done, but after an hour it was tasty. I think a whole teaspoon of garlic powder (the brand I have anyway) would be WAY too much. I used about 1/4 teaspoon. I added a can of kidney beans and I think they balance out the salad visually, texture and flavorwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe was a big hit at my neighborhood potluck! I did have one problem though- I had only 1/2 cup of mayo, so I used 1/2 Kraft Miracle Whip with the mayo. It created a great sweet contrast with the hot salsa! Also, using Rainbow Rotini was very festive and appealing to the eye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
It was wonderful! I added a can of red kidney beans and some frozen corn and used Old El Paso medium salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is a keeper!!! I made the salad just a little while ago to go with the tamales we're having for supper. It was delicious even before the flavors had a chance to meld. I used tri-color spiral pasta and added black beans, Mexi-corn, cilantro, chives and a can of mild green chilies. I used Pace medium salsa. I omitted the black olives because husband and son don't like them. I'm thinking next time I might add some cooked chicken to make it an entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This was so good - I put the corn and black beans in it also - AND I put cilantro. I got lots and lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Excellent macaroni salad! This is so easy and it tastes like it was sooo hard to make. I will make this over and over again. I took advise of others and added the corn and black beans which was a great balance of mexican flavors. Highly recommend this for potluck socials...it'll be a hit! The black olives are a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States