One - Two - Three - Mexican Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
This salad needs to chill for at least a few hours before serving. It isn't very good otherwise. The dressing is a very odd shade of pink and I was nervous to even taste it. I didn't like it when it was first done, but after an hour it was tasty. I think a whole teaspoon of garlic powder (the brand I have anyway) would be WAY too much. I used about 1/4 teaspoon. I added a can of kidney beans and I think they balance out the salad visually, texture and flavorwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This recipe is FABULOUS!!! An excellent idea and a wonderful and tastey dish!! I didn't use green peppers or olives, but I did add some sweet corn, black beans, a hard boiled egg, tuna, and chili powder for more of a kick. At first I was unsure because it wasn't looking too tastey but OH WOW did it taste good. THe next day when it was cold it was TO DIE FOR!!! I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
An awesome recipe! My husband doesn't like green pepper, so I omit that. He loves olives, so I double them. This recipe is great because you can just eyeball the amounts for the dressing - you want to make it to your own taste, anyhow. I like to add a little bit of finely diced onion (or green onion, if I have some), and I only use about half the salt (because I love salt, and I'm trying to cut back on my intake). Thanks so much, Joslyn, for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Good recipe, but way too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This had to be one of the easiest salads I ever made. And it tasted good too. I used medium shells instead of macaroni because I had it in my closet. Also, used Fat Free Mayo (and I always like to cut the calories). But I like a lot of flavor, so I also added about a half cup of chopped onion and a half cup of frozen corn. Also, put in about a Tbsp of chili powder for more Mexican flavor. Then right before serving, I sprinkled chopped cilantro on top. Yummy!! I will definitely make this again. And maybe use black beans as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
5 stars with some modifications. I skipped the olives, but added a can of black beans, a can of corn, and a lot of cumin and cilantro (dried, but fresh would be even better!). A very good change from traditional mac salad, plus, a lot healthier. Will make again - thanks for the great idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe was a big hit at my neighborhood potluck! I did have one problem though- I had only 1/2 cup of mayo, so I used 1/2 Kraft Miracle Whip with the mayo. It created a great sweet contrast with the hot salsa! Also, using Rainbow Rotini was very festive and appealing to the eye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I just made this recipe and we really enjoyed it. I am a vegetarian and this was a filling salad everyone could enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I liked this recipe it was a nice change. I used a medium chunky salsa and added chopped green onions and finely chopped celery for a little added crunch. Everyone enjoyed it. Next time I think I will add some corn. This recipe is easily adaptable to whatever might suit your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I give it 5 stars for preparation- very easy to make, but just so-so on taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States