One - Two - Three - Mexican Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Hellman's put out a similar recipe to this a few years ago and I've always had good comments about it. I also add some "extras" and a blob of lowfat sour cream to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I added a few other ingredients and spices to kick it up a notch and used Miricle Whip instead of Mayo. Your basic salad though was a great place for me to start :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a great base recipe to adjust to your liking. I think using mayo is better if you plan to eat this for a couple days (it becomes less runny), but sour cream works well if you are going to eat it up right away. Instead of salsa I use petite diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, onion. I also add green onions, fresh garlic, and some hot sauce. Instead of olives, I like to add a little avocado and lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
We really enjoyed this macaroni salad. A nice change from mexican rice that I usually serve with any mexican dish. I added diced onion in with the green pepper. I think this would be even better with sour cream in place of the mayo. I used a hot salsa which made it even better. I had curly pasta cooked so I used that. I will make this again, so easy with so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Great salad.. quick and easy. I added a can of corn drained and a can of black beans rinsed and drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tiffin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alaena39
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
You have recipes that you would give five stars to, then you have very few like these that deserve six. This is a fantastic recipe and here's why. 1. It really is as easy as it says. The only downfall is having to wait til it's done refrigerating! 2. I love recipes that I can easily make from things I already have in my kitchen and not have to run to the store. And the best one is 3. It was one of the best macaroni salads I've ever tasted! My husband went back for seconds and my 15 month old who is as picky as can be gobbled this up without even realizing she was eating veggies! I had to make more the next day because my husband was already asking for it. The only thing I did different was not add olives, since none of us really like em that much and the second time I just added onions that I had leftover, which was a nice addition. We also prefer it with medium salsa, as even my toddler could tolerate it and it had more of a bite than mild. Six stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I substituted sour cream instead of mayonaise. Besides the green bell pepper, I also used red bell pepper. I took a small can of corn, drained it and then heated it in a frying pan until crunchy. Shredded cheese was mixed with all the other items and then the pasta was mixed in. This really made the tasted different and wa la, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I really liked the idea of this salad but thought there could be more to it--so before starting anything I read all the other comments noting all the great ideas. One thing I did that no one else added in their comments was that I substituted sour cream for mayo--I use a ratio of 1:2 salsa and sour cream for chip dip and love the flavor. I thought it would be an excellent creamy and zesty sauce for this recipe. In this instance I used an equal portion 1:1 ratio for the macaroni salad. Loved and used the beans, corn, celery, onion and cilantro additions as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This is a keeper!!! I made the salad just a little while ago to go with the tamales we're having for supper. It was delicious even before the flavors had a chance to meld. I used tri-color spiral pasta and added black beans, Mexi-corn, cilantro, chives and a can of mild green chilies. I used Pace medium salsa. I omitted the black olives because husband and son don't like them. I'm thinking next time I might add some cooked chicken to make it an entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Fast, easy and has some zip! I like it because it uses things I generally have on hand. I might try a chipotle salsa...or add some cheese next time. A good change up over "regular" macaroni salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States