One - Two - Three - Four Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very good!! Moist an delicious an the texture is perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2000
it's good i had much fun making it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This is a very moist and flavorful cake. Would work well with any type of frosting--perfect birthday cake basic. The only problem I had was with the amount of batter. The recipe states there is enough batter for six 9 inch round pans so I cut the recipe in half hoping to make a 3 layer cake. The halfed recipe barely made enough batter to make 2 skimpy 9 inch rounds. However the cake is so tasty I can't complain. My son could hardly wait until it was frosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Yummy and easy Basic cake extra tasty I added lemon juice with the vanilla and brushed the top with a lemon sugar mixture I even threw in some blueberries on the top before I baked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This cake was quite simple to make, tasted good. It was a little harder than the usual cake, but still good. It holds up to layering very well. I made it with a lightly sweetened whipped cream topping/filling and it was delicious. I also made one version with sliced fresh strawberries between layers with whipped cream, delicious! I'll probably try cake flour next time to see if it will lighten up the cake, but even if it doesn't I'll still make it again since it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
a whole lotta cake for a whole lotta people... I put a layer of lemon curd and then used cream cheese frosting on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Creaming the butter and sugar for long enough is the whole secret to this recipe. My daughter made it this week, and just left the mixer running while she did some other things. The cake came out SO moist and delicious, not a bit like cornbread. Very flavorful! I don't usually like cake without frosting, but this one was yummy enough it didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I didn't have any butter so I used shortning and added a little butter flavor to it. It was fantastic! This is one of the lightest cakes I have ever made and as a semi-professional baker that says a lot. This one is getting filed. For those who had a problem with dryness. Never sccop out the flour, spoon it into the measuring cup and level it. Too much flour = dry cake. Also beat the butter sugar till it's really well creamed together and add eggs one at a time beating to death after each one. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have been using this for years glad to see it shared here. I actually cream the butter and sugar for 5 min to get a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States