One - Two - Three - Four Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Pretty decent cake, but as white and yellow butter cakes are notoriously a little drier, I think for my own personal preference I would add a couple of extra yolks to the batter in the future. Experience has shown me this really helps. For those who remark this tastes like or has the texture of corn bread, perhaps you're not beating your butter and sugar long enough? You really have to beat it for a good 2-3 minutes to aerate it, which definitely makes all the difference in terms of texture. I made these into cupcakes, and added 1 tsp. of grated lemon zest to the batter. Frosted with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I made this into a 9x13 sheet cake and cooked this for 30 minutes. It turned out golden and moist. I found an easy and quick yellow cake. Excellent with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
a whole lotta cake for a whole lotta people... I put a layer of lemon curd and then used cream cheese frosting on top of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Flavor is very good-better than boxed cake mix on flavor. However, the cake was also very dry. I do think I overbaked it some, but, I don't think the was the entire reason for the dryness. The cake is quite dense as well. In my opinion, while the flavor is good, I willmore than likely use the box next time or maybe add pudding or egg yolk to the mixture? Not sure. I was just bummed b/c i tried to follow the advice of another reviewer and ensure that I creamed my butter and sugar well, yet, I had a really dry cake. Oh well. I did pair it with the sour cream chocolate cake frosting on this site - which is very chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This cake was very easy to make. I was very pleased how it turned out- until I tasted it....it tasted like cornbread. This is the first time one of my cakes has turned out tasting bad. I was very dissappointed- will not try this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This is a very moist and flavorful cake. Would work well with any type of frosting--perfect birthday cake basic. The only problem I had was with the amount of batter. The recipe states there is enough batter for six 9 inch round pans so I cut the recipe in half hoping to make a 3 layer cake. The halfed recipe barely made enough batter to make 2 skimpy 9 inch rounds. However the cake is so tasty I can't complain. My son could hardly wait until it was frosted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
I doubled the recipe and used it for a 1/4 sheet cake!! WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
So many complaints about this cake being dry....possibly because the layers are too thin. I always makes this particular recipe in a 9 x 13 pan - no problem. Also, it is better if the eggs are separated, i.e. beat in yoks and whip whites until soft peaks form and fold in at the very end. Good luck. P.S. Use this recipe not only for frosting cakes but also as a base for strawberies or fruit of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I have been using this for years glad to see it shared here. I actually cream the butter and sugar for 5 min to get a really good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I didn't have any butter so I used shortning and added a little butter flavor to it. It was fantastic! This is one of the lightest cakes I have ever made and as a semi-professional baker that says a lot. This one is getting filed. For those who had a problem with dryness. Never sccop out the flour, spoon it into the measuring cup and level it. Too much flour = dry cake. Also beat the butter sugar till it's really well creamed together and add eggs one at a time beating to death after each one. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States