One - Two - Three - Four Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I really liked this recipe for a classic yellow cake. I let my ingredients come up to room temperature before I started mixing. Next time, I might add an additional egg yolk just for a deeper yellow color. I used two 8-inch cake pans, so I needed to increase the baking time since I had more batter per pan. I started testing the cakes at 25 minutes, and they took about 35-40 minutes. The cake wasn't too dry for me, but next time I may use a soaking syrup for just a little added moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was one of the best cakes I've ever made. Frosted with milk chocolate frosting (sift together 6 T cocoa with 2 1/2 c powdered sugar, cream 1/2 c butter, add 5 T whole milk or cream, 1 t. vanilla and cocoa/sugar mixture and beat the heck out of it - if too thick, add more milk), it made a lovely birthday cake for my mom. The only thing I added was 1/2 t. salt because I used unsalted butter. The cake flour gives it a fine, soft crumb, so be sure to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I think I messed up this cake, because it was the worst cake I've ever made. It was flavorless, dry, and had a weird texture. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
How does this cake make 36 servings??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used this recipe for my dad's birthday cake and filled it with lemon icing also from this site. This is everything you could wish for in a cake. Light, fluffy and moist. It's also easy to make which is always a bonus. Thankyou Janice for a recipe I know I will make many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really love to make this cake! It tastes so good, my husband absolutely loves it (and loves me for making it!!), and goes great with a number of different toppings/frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I've had a hard time finding a yellow cake recipe that I like. I remember my childhood friend making a 1,2,3,4, cake. I tried this one. It is very good. It's a definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Thank you for reminding me of this wonderful basic cake. My mother made it frequently and I had lost the recipe. It is definitely, in my opinion,an excellent layer cake. Make with butter and pure vanilla plus chocolate frosting it is heavenly. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
What a very soft cake! I used a little extra vanilla and stirred in bittersweet chocolate chips at the end and made cupcakes. Awesome. No need for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Although easy and relatively quick, the cake was dry and had little flavor. We did not like it at all and ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States