One - Two - Three - Four Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Just not what I feel is a true One, Two, Three, Four Cake. The taste, texture and taste just aren't what one would expect from a "True" recipe for this cake. I feel the recipe would be suited under a different name - since it is NOT a One, Two, Three, Four Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Might want to rename this "Yogurt" cake. Batter is very stiff and cake is dense. This is not a 1,2,3,4 Cake, so named because they contain: 1 cup of milk & butter, 2 cups sugar, 3 cups cake flour, and 4 eggs. From there, variations may add 1/2 to 1 tsp salt, 2 to 4 tsp. baking powder, 1 to 2 tsp. vanilla, and may separate the whites or not depending upon the lightness desired. Some recipes substitute all-purpose flour, making them more coarsely textured than the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
If used almost immediately it might be okay but with 2 tsps. of cream of tartar it is almost bound to be dry. Much better recipes for this cake on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
This is an exceptionally moist and delicious cake made with the yogurt suggested. I made it in a Bundt pan to serve for 15 people and had ample. I substituted 1 cup of golden sugar for 1 cup of the white called for, I used the peel of one whole orange, and added a few handfuls of golden raisins mixed well with a bit of the flour. It stays moist for days, and will likely freeze well, if only it lasts that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I tried this recipe because of the yogurt. It came out very dry and not at all what I expected. I am an experienced baker, and this cake actually fell somewhat in the middle, something that hasn't happened in a long time. I won't be baking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
I made this cake as a present for my in-laws. They are quite aged and do not like frosted cakes. They loved it. I added 1/2 cup raisins to the recipe.It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This cake came out a little dry. I did use lowfat greek yogurt so that may have been the issue. I will try this one again, but I have a feeling its going to need a little less flour or a little more fat to get the tender yet moist cake I was seeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is a good cake. I used fresh lemon peel and I think that made a big difference. It is more dense than a typical yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I've made this recipe twice with excellent results. Both times I made two 8-inch layers, put sliced strawberries between them, and frosted the cake with a coffee/chocolate icing. I had to bake it for longer than 30 minutes - more like 40 or 45 - but it came out very moist and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States