One - Two - Three - Four Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Just not what I feel is a true One, Two, Three, Four Cake. The taste, texture and taste just aren't what one would expect from a "True" recipe for this cake. I feel the recipe would be suited under a different name - since it is NOT a One, Two, Three, Four Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Might want to rename this "Yogurt" cake. Batter is very stiff and cake is dense. This is not a 1,2,3,4 Cake, so named because they contain: 1 cup of milk & butter, 2 cups sugar, 3 cups cake flour, and 4 eggs. From there, variations may add 1/2 to 1 tsp salt, 2 to 4 tsp. baking powder, 1 to 2 tsp. vanilla, and may separate the whites or not depending upon the lightness desired. Some recipes substitute all-purpose flour, making them more coarsely textured than the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
If used almost immediately it might be okay but with 2 tsps. of cream of tartar it is almost bound to be dry. Much better recipes for this cake on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
This is an exceptionally moist and delicious cake made with the yogurt suggested. I made it in a Bundt pan to serve for 15 people and had ample. I substituted 1 cup of golden sugar for 1 cup of the white called for, I used the peel of one whole orange, and added a few handfuls of golden raisins mixed well with a bit of the flour. It stays moist for days, and will likely freeze well, if only it lasts that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I tried this recipe because of the yogurt. It came out very dry and not at all what I expected. I am an experienced baker, and this cake actually fell somewhat in the middle, something that hasn't happened in a long time. I won't be baking this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
I made this cake as a present for my in-laws. They are quite aged and do not like frosted cakes. They loved it. I added 1/2 cup raisins to the recipe.It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This cake came out a little dry. I did use lowfat greek yogurt so that may have been the issue. I will try this one again, but I have a feeling its going to need a little less flour or a little more fat to get the tender yet moist cake I was seeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is a good cake. I used fresh lemon peel and I think that made a big difference. It is more dense than a typical yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby sparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Boylston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I've made this recipe twice with excellent results. Both times I made two 8-inch layers, put sliced strawberries between them, and frosted the cake with a coffee/chocolate icing. I had to bake it for longer than 30 minutes - more like 40 or 45 - but it came out very moist and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States