On Wisconsin Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
MY FAMILY THOUGHT THEY WERE GREAT WE WILL DEFINETLY MAKE THIS RECIPIE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I'm from Wisconsin and have been tailgating for 40 years in Madison and Green Bay. I have to tell you that if you are going to have a Wisconsin Brat, you better grill them first and have your hot marinade ready to receive them off the grill. Once off the grill, allow them to set for at least an hour in the marinade before serving. I usually make brats for a "crowd" the day before and allow the brats to sit overnight in the marinade. An hour or so before the tail gate I simply take my "huge" Bucky Pot full of brats and marinade and place it right on the grill for the "re heat". The brats are flavorful and melt in you mouth... oh, don't forget, use a slotted spoon to take out the sliced onions and garlic from the marinade to put on the brats.. OUT OF THIS WORLD. This is a good recipe for rainy days but, I agree with another reviewer, the flavor of the brat is lost to some degree in this recipe. You must also use a "strong" full bodied dark beer. I would use Augsburger Bock beer if it were still made out of Monroe, Wisconsin... ahhhh those good old fall days with a blue sky, cool breeze, the scent of fall leaves and grills, a cold beer, the laughter of friends and a good old fashion Wisconsin brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I kind a use this recipe as an idea to cook the brats this evening, since my boyfriend brought some fully cooked brats. First I heat up 1 tbls oil and 1 tbls butter then add sliced onion and add dash of cayenne pepper, a dash of chill pepper, and mix all together let it cook in medium heat until brown, then add garlic and cook till the garlic about to turn brown, then I put the pre-cook brats and cook together for another 2 mins. Then I put in one bottle of "New Castle" and let it boil . Then turn to simmer low heat, and let it cook for at least 1 hours. Then take out the brats and put aside, and put sauerkraut in the liquid and let it simmer under low heat until all the liquid almost dry down. Meanwhile, put the brats in the grill on low heat and keep your eyes on it. If you see burns mark or bubble on one side, turn the brats to another side, keep checking until the casing look kind a dry but not burst or crack open, then is really to eat. Put some of you buns on the grill for 30 sec to a minutes each side. And use brown mustard instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I followed some other reviews and poked my brats with a fork so they wouldn't expand. I liked this recipe, however, my children did not. I still give it a 4 but I will know next time it's not for the kiddo's. We also did not use the optional sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Company and husband loved these! I liked how simple it was to throw them in the crock pot and then fry up some onions and green peppers! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica L Antel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This recipe is replacing my "go to" brats recipe. I halfed it as I'm cooking for just my husband and myself. We loved the flavor of this brat bath. The changes I made were for personal preferences only. Added two cups of sauerkraut. Grilled brats for 10 mins and then into the bath for 15 mins. Added 1 tbsp of rice flour to thicken the sauce as we don't eat them on a bun. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These were delicious, the only thing i did different was i browned them in a frying pan and poked them with a fork so they wouldnt get mushy, then i added them to the crock pot and cooked on low for 5-6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beebs_wine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
brats should be grilled too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
The brats were mushy after leaving them in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made these for an Oktoberfest party and they were completely gone by the end of the night, and everyone was raving. You can't really ruin brats, but this recipe is one I will keep because it really showcases what I love about bratwurst. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States