On Wisconsin Beer Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
They were soggy. Good flavor but too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I have never made brats before and deciced to make them for Super Bowl Sunday. I first read the reviews and followed some of the advice. I didn't have a grill to brown them so I used an iron skillet and browned them, thne I added it to the mixture in the crock pot. I did not use sour kraut with mine since I don't eat it. I will defienitly make this recipe again. They were loved by all!!! I took the leftovers to work for some of my favorite coworkers and they all asked for the recipe. PS I'm not a beer drinker and still loved them :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great recipe and perfect for every Packers fan! I brought this to my friends house for our usual game day potlucks and it was a hit! The brats plump up so nicely in the beer and are really juicy and flavorful. I didn't use the brown sugar since I don't like sweet brats, and I added more beer. I also just warmed the sauerkraut separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lancasterk01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
too much butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Wow! These are great. Tons of flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geno McKenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I cut this recipe in half. I used only one can of beer, one large onion, I upped the garlic to four cloves and kept the sauerkraut, garlic powder and cayenne pepper at the same amount. My family really liked this, me especially because it was SO simple. I'll be making this a lot, I'll tell you. NOTE: I have a newer crockpot so mine cooks a lot hotter than my old 60's thrifted version. I only needed about an hour and a half on mine, so cooking times may differ depending on your crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
These are the best stinkin' brats I ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
MY FAMILY THOUGHT THEY WERE GREAT WE WILL DEFINETLY MAKE THIS RECIPIE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I'm from Wisconsin and have been tailgating for 40 years in Madison and Green Bay. I have to tell you that if you are going to have a Wisconsin Brat, you better grill them first and have your hot marinade ready to receive them off the grill. Once off the grill, allow them to set for at least an hour in the marinade before serving. I usually make brats for a "crowd" the day before and allow the brats to sit overnight in the marinade. An hour or so before the tail gate I simply take my "huge" Bucky Pot full of brats and marinade and place it right on the grill for the "re heat". The brats are flavorful and melt in you mouth... oh, don't forget, use a slotted spoon to take out the sliced onions and garlic from the marinade to put on the brats.. OUT OF THIS WORLD. This is a good recipe for rainy days but, I agree with another reviewer, the flavor of the brat is lost to some degree in this recipe. You must also use a "strong" full bodied dark beer. I would use Augsburger Bock beer if it were still made out of Monroe, Wisconsin... ahhhh those good old fall days with a blue sky, cool breeze, the scent of fall leaves and grills, a cold beer, the laughter of friends and a good old fashion Wisconsin brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wisconsin Bratwurst

These classic brats are boiled in beer and onions and finished on the grill.

Root Beer and Sesame Glazed Ribs

Chili sauce, sesame oil, and root beer make sweet, spicy, succulent ribs.

Beer Can Chicken

A whole, dry-rubbed chicken sits on a can of beer and grills to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States