On the Go Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
If it were just me judging, this probably wouldn't be very fair as I am ambivalent on casserole. However my casserole loving other half found this just as blah as me. In his words "It tries too hard." No beef on folks who loved it, but it just didn't come together right. All of the flavors came across as distinct separate ingredients instead of a nice cohesive whole and overall it just kind of tasted like a waste of good pieces. And there are so many tasty recipes out there I don't see in the point in tinkering with a broken one. Ah well, I do love trying new things and this was definitely different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I did like trying something out of the ordinary. It is not a traditional casserole. The hot sausage was too spicy for my taste. My husband said he didn't like the olive combination. It wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
We really liked this. I had no sausage, so I substituted ground beef with taco seasoning as another review suggested and went a step further to substitute salsa for the stewed tomatoes. It was fantastic! The green olives are something I would not have thought of with a taco flavor - but it all made friends together in the oven. Happy mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good, nice to have a casserole that doesn't call for a can of soup. Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Not bad at all! We were looking for something different using spicy sausage & this recipe fit the bill! We added some onion & some orange bell pepper(cleaning out the fridge). We had large green olives stuffed with garlic & that worked out very well, loved the bite from the olives. The black olives added to the texture & presentation, but not much flavor.We doubled the recipe & added more rice then called for, so I thought it was i bit dry when I was mixing it, so I popped open a small can of V-8 juice & added that. Just enough moisture! Fit nicely in a 13x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
My husband and I enjoyed this casserole. Neither of us like olives so I did omit the green olives and we tried the black. Didn't even notice them in there. I used canned mushrooms and brown rice. I served it with Sour Cream and Cholula Hot sauce on top and that was really the finishing touch. It was a necessary boost to the overall flavor. I am definitely going to serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Used mozzarella cheese instead and it turned out fine. Also added garlic and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Major

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Great recipe with such a unique combination of flavors. I used turkey sausage and cooked it with chopped onion, celery, basil and parsley. I left out the mushrooms and next time I will leave out the corn (corn did not go well with this dish). Instead I will add some green or red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This was very tasty meal which used ingredients I usually have on hand. I didn't use hot sausage, but added red pepper flakes for individual plating as desired. This also held and reheated quite well. We will definitely enjoy this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I was stuck for something different to make, and came across this recipe. It was absolutely delicious! It is a comfort food and my family needs it with our cold winters. My husband had two huge servings and took the leftovers to his parents, who gobbled it all up in one sitting. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out wonderful. This is a keeper in our house. Thank you so much for such an easy recipe that has so much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSBING

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States