Omuraisu (Japanese Rice Omelet) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Followed recipe as directed except used Extra sharp shredded cheddar. Absolutely delicious!!! Never expected rice and eggs to taste so good together. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Used Soyrizo to make it vegetarian. Have made it about 10 times so far, so it must be pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
DELICIOUS! No ham or processed cheese on hand, but very good nonetheless. I substituted an extra sharp white cheddar for the processed cheese and luckily, upon cooking, the cheese mellowed out quite a bit giving the rice a nice consistency and a great taste in combination with the ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Added onion, skipped the cheese. Katsu instead of ketchup. Will fill omelet and add cheese with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Used tofu instead of ham and reduced the cheese quite a bit. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Henry Reiher, Jr
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was a great way to use up some leftover brown rice I have from some takeout I had from the night before. I modified the recipe by using some lamb bacon and adding a small onion to the ingredients. I cut up the bacon into cubes and diced the onion. I cooked them together in the pan till the onion was translucent, then I added the rest of the rice ingredients. It added an extra 10 minutes to the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I am Japanese and have made Omurice many times but using a processed cheese was new for me but it was good! Omurice is Japanese not Omo-rice as Korean. You may know Omo-rice for Korean maybe similar to Omurice but this is definitely Japanese Omurice that my mom used to make when I was a kid and living in Japan (I was born and rainsed in Japan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
the recipe is great :).. but i do have a correction: its actually called omo-rice which is korean not japanese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States