Omelet in a Mug Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I use two whole eggs, I didn't feel like separating eggs, some left over cooked Italian sausage and some diced peppers. My microwave is pretty powerful, I cooked for 1 minute and the egg puffed up really high - took it out, couldn't really stir it as it was mostly cooked. The egg deflated and I just used a knife to move the egg around the mug, add a little cheese and back into the microwave for 30 seconds. Make sure you spray the mug well and the egg will just slide right out. BTW - this is great with just one egg in a ramekin for one minute. Perfect for making egg McMuffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
317 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Easy and delicious without a ton of prep or clean up!What more could you ask for from a simple yet filling breakfast? Perfect for when you need something "on the go". I've been making this for my husband to take to work and you can use any type of microwave-safe dish as long as you spray it with Pam. Watch your cooking times as microwave strengths vary - you don't want the eggs to explode. I love the combo of ham, cheese, and veggies. This recipe is a great base: use your favorite cheeses or breakfast meats and add-in whatever veggies you have on hand. You can even lighten it up by using Egg Beaters and fresh herbs! This works great for breakfast sandwiches on biscuits or English muffins or try it in a warm tortilla for a breakfast wrap. Whatever you choose it's bound to be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I made three of these this morning, as I wanted to have a fun breakfast that I could make with my two kids and have them participate. I don't keep green bell pepper on hand, I used red instead. I made no other changes. I made sure that we all sprayed our mugs very well with cooking spray before pouring in our omelette ingredients. This turned out very cool--my kids and I were very impressed. After they finished their mug omelettes, they wanted to make another one! This would be great to expand to have little bowls of different throw in's and really make some fun omelette combinations. Thanks for sharing your recipe--my kids and I made a wonderful memory this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
615 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I have made these for ages. The only difference is I add a tablesppon or so of milk when I whisk the eggs to make them fluffier. Very easy and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This is the second time I've made this, the first time following the recipe to the letter...it was very good. This time I made two Egg McMuffins (used ramekins, the perfect size) and cooked for about 2-1/2 minutes on high in the microwave. The omelet was in between a slice of American cheese on the bottom and Canadian bacon on the top and sandwiched onto a toasted English muffin. This time I used Southwestern Egg Beaters (1/4 cup for each sandwich) which tasted delicious. With the two ramekins going into the dishwasher and hand washing one small skillet for the Canadian bacon, the cleanup was easy (no more messy egg rings to scrub!). This is now my go-to method for making Egg McMuffins, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I make this every weekend for our group home consumers. Only I use a bowl with a tablespoon of butter around the perimeter of the bowl, crack 1 egg in the center, mix with a fork, add 1 tablespoon of water, place in microwave for 1 min, at 30 seconds I place a slice of cheese on top. Perfect everytime !! AND the feedback is ++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebInOH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I like this mostly, because of how easy it is to do and hardly any clean up. No matter how much of a rush I'm in, I can always spare 2 minutes and have a healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is Hilarious !!! I think Sharlene has been spying on my kitchen, LOL. My wife is VERY calorie conscious ( though she doesn't really need to be) and since I'm the cook I'm always trying to fix something that fits in her plans and is tasty. I've been making her this type of omelet for more than a year and it has been a complete success. She doesn't eat pork, so instead of the ham, I have used turkey ham or a good quality, and also I make the omelet a bit larger, using 2 whole eggs and 2 egg whites. Also keep sauteed mushrooms in fridge at all times, so add those, also use a bit more diced pepper ( sorry, only use red), and a bit of dehydrated onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Sobieski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Zacatecas, Zacatecas, Mexico
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I used Florentine egg beaters, Swiss cheese, bacon and onion. Tasted like a wonderful little quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is a winner! Simple and yummy and very pretty. I need to take a few pics next time I make it. I don't consider my microwave to by very powerful but after about 45 seconds during round two in the microwave my omlette was billowing over, so you might want to keep an eye on your mug during the second round in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Baked Denver Omelet

It's baked like a frittata, with ham, bell pepper, onions, and Cheddar cheese.

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States